Exploring Rialto Beach and the Hole-in-the-Wall | Photo Album

in #adventure6 years ago

Located on the westernmost piece of the Olympic Peninsula, Rialto Beach and Hole-in-the-Wall offer some of the best beach experiences the Puget Sound region has to offer.


(They call it “Hole-in-the-Wall” because of the distinctive stone arch located at the northernmost tip of the beach!)



I did the journey as an overnight trip from Seattle and got to ride the ferry and take in the many glorious hues of bright blue water like the one below!



I rested overnight at an Airbnb -- I won’t lie, I booked it specifically because they said there would be alpacas. No disappointment on my end! Just look at these fuzzy friends.



Driving to the beach was easy peasy, and the parking lot is located right next to the water so it’s very easy to access. Once you’re there, you immediately have stunning views. Like this...



And this...



And this...



My favorite adventure buddy Cash was also a fan, here he stands in the sea foam taking in the views and the salt.



This is, perhaps, one of the most stunningly beautiful natural landscapes I’ve ever visited. Every direction gives you a new perspective and view of this rugged, lush terrain.



Looking up the beach, the sun seemed to shine a spotlight on the destination, so off we went to explore!



Rialto is known for having some of the best tidepools and sea-life viewing opportunities in the region. Today did not disappoint. Here a close-up of the literally millions of pieces of driftwood littering the beach.



Here a glimpse at some of the sea life exposed during low tide. If you have the chance to explore, I recommend reading a tidal chart in advance so you can also be there when the water is out and you can see the amazing critters living in the rocks!



A close-up! See the tiny crab?!



Here, a friend snaps a shot of me walking towards the infamous Hole-in-the-Wall. To note: You can only get out to the arch during low-tide, and you should be careful you don’t get trapped!



Another beautiful shot up the beach, this time with driftwood in the forefront showing just how much of it there was everywhere!



And finally, a funny little shot of Cash to make you smile. He LOVES sticks. ;)



Getting outdoors is one of the things that relaxes and centers me more than anything in the world. I love sharing my adventures on steemit and appreciate you stopping by to check it out. Always excited to meet other adventurers and creative souls on this journey they call life.



FYI, All photos shot by me on my iPhone 6, and no filters necessary!

View more of my recent work

From Full Time to Freelance and How I Got Here
I just went to prison for 5 months. Again. | 07
Exploring the Big Four Ice Caves | Photo Album
Passing My 500 Followers Milestone and How I Got Here!
ART MIX-UP CONTEST | 04
The Art of Self Care | 5 Essential Tips
The Hero with a Thousand Faces: a monomyth
An Afternoon Jaunt to Wellington Ghost Town | Photo Album

Proud member of

SS-pansies-EN.jpg




Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 18:35:42
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 71.80/100.00
Total Photos: 13
Total comments: 5
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

What a fun collection of photos! Place looks otherworldly, wow.

It really does feel a bit unreal, a beautiful trek for sure. Thanks for checking it out!

Thank you @lilyraabe for sharing your little trip with us. It is so nice that I am on the other side of the world receiving a fresh look of a place unknown (till now) to me, in a very intimate way!

I so appreciate you stopping by to check out the photos, glad you enjoyed them!

wow the scenery is very amazing and such clear, crisp shot. nice tour

Thanks so much! And it was just on my iPhone, I’m always so impressed with how great phones are nowadays!

Downright beautiful. Thank you @lilyraabe for taking the time to share these gorgeous photos with us. Reminds me a little bit of the time my wife and I drove the PCH from LA to Monterrey Peninsula.

Thanks so much for stopping by and glad you enjoyed! Ya, it was a beautiful little trip, any excuse to get out onto the peninsula is a good one. I’d love to drive down along that part of the world, bet it was beautiful.

It was really cool seeing your post. I was the author for OCD today, and I knew immediately where you were before even reading it. A lot of my family lives in Neah Bay (close to where you were) and is where my dad is buried. It was great seeing a stranger enjoy one of my favorite places :)

Wow, that is so awesome! It’s always so wonderful to see something familiar in a place where you see so much that is not! Happy you got to see a little piece of home, and thankful you took the time to comment and say hello. :)

I've lived in the Pacific Northwest (mostly Oregon), and I've never made it to Pugent Sound. You hear a lot about it down here, though. I imagine it gets plenty of rain, maybe more so than other places, so catching it now when it wasn't was pretty good luck I imagine.

My wife and I do want to make a trip up there, though. Maybe towards the beginning of summer.

Definitely an amazing view and scenery. And it looked like you had it all to yourself, which is the best part. :)

Wow looks like you had a ball.
The pictures are mesmerizing ,thank u for the vitual tour.
Would you take some time and check out some of my posts ?
Follow for follow?

I also make art and do photography
Below are some of my works
20180414_124746-01.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57198.53
ETH 2362.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40