Arrival & First Impressions

in #adventure7 years ago (edited)

I take the first steps on the African continent on August 05, 2017 when I arrive in the late afternoon at Douala Airport with a 30 min delay. When exiting the airplane, hot and very humid air welcomes me. I find my way through the immigration procedure to the luggage pickup where I waited for one hour before my backpack was appearing as one of the last pieces. I get out of the airport and find myself surrounded by a big crowd of people that are all talking to me at the same time and that seem to know what I was looking for. Luckily, one guides me to a gate where people wait for picking up friends and family. I find, Tabi, my coordinator from Buea among the many people waiting. He warmly welcomes me (despite him waiting there already for 3hours) and guides me to a taxi that he already reserved. We drive in a rather antique and improvised Toyota to a central gathering point in Douala, where we transfer to another car that takes us directly to Buea. We waited for another 35mins until the car was full and we started our journey.

2017-08-10_1317_001.png

The ride from Douala to Buea can take between 1,5 hours and 4 hours depending on traffic and road conditions. Luckily, it only took us around 2 hours and several shock moments (traffic is crazy!) to reach Buea, where I was already expected by Teresa, Eva, and Lukas, the other volunteers at our student residency.

During a delicious dinner, the others shared their stories and experiences with me after already spending one month in Cameroon. I was truly impressed by how they managed to install a kitchen in the student residence, manage their daily life without running water, overcome frequent power failures and get used to the slow life here in Cameroon. Tired and filled with new impressions, I spent the first night at Eva's room since all the cockroach and mouse home stories kind of stuck in my head and spent a wonderful first night under a protective mosquito net.

The following days were filled with many first-times and new encounters. We went to the market, ate great local food, bought fabrics and get tailored dresses, went to visit a school for children, learned to elegantly fight the muddy roads with our rubber boots, celebrated the rain-free periods (it's rainy season), met local street goats, set-up the office schedule for the next months, and explored the local shopping and service landscape!

IMG_4058.JPG

Hope for All Community School Muea

20747500_1743202832374908_26450163_o.jpg

Cameroonian Car Wash

IMG_20170804_115749.jpg

Favorite Shop in Town

20746872_1743202272374964_224012679_o.jpg

Got sold for 0,80ct to this Phone Repair Mister after heavy bargaining


Muddy Roads of Buea

IMG_4163.JPG

IPAD Office & Eva

IMG_4167.JPG

View from the Office with Goat Friend

Only down-site: my phone got stolen, but I am available via Whatsapp with a new number, so drop me a line if you want to reconnect! We already planned our first trip to Kribi Beach this weekend, so stay tuned for the next story!

Sort:  

Amazing impressions, I am looking forward to see and read more. Keep it up :) and welcome to Steemit

Hi. I am a volunteer bot for @resteembot that upvoted you.
Your post was chosen at random, as part of the advertisment campaign for @resteembot.
@resteembot is meant to help minnows get noticed by re-steeming their posts


To use the bot, one must follow it for at least 3 hours, and then make a transaction where the memo is the url of the post.
If you want to learn more - read the introduction post of @resteembot.
If you want help spread the word - read the advertisment program post.


Steem ON!

Congratulations @helenasternkopf! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54642.70
ETH 2317.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33