Chasing The Beauty Of Autumn Part 4 - Walking Around In Abondoned Prison Area

in #adventure6 years ago (edited)

This is the fourth and final part of my fall beauty finding trip. I'm at the same location as in the last post but this time I'm not on the mountain and exploring an abandoned jail area that is just next to the abandoned quarry.
If you already haven't then check out my previous this series part in these links.
Chasing The Beauty Of Autumn - On The Waterfall, Part 1
Chasin The Beauty Of Autumn Part 2 - Walk In The Park
Chasing The Beauty Of Autumn Part 3, On Top Of Abandoned Quarry Mountain

I can say that in this post, fall colors are not exactly the subject. Still, it belongs to this series because its the same trip on that beautiful day. By the time I got down from the mountain, I had very little time left to capture something with the sun that was already on the horizon. First I took some shots of the old houses that are still standing there.

DSC_0139.jpg

By the way, when you are on top of the mountain you can see many houses underwater there.

DSC_0141.jpg


DSC_0146.jpg

I have been there countless times over the years but never wondered to the jail area, on that day I did. This Prison was closed in the late 80's pretty soon after the quarry( by a horrible mistake) filled with water overnight.
If you are interested in depth info about all the details about the quarry and jail then see this post I wrote in the winter.

DSC_0147.jpg


DSC_0149.jpg


DSC_0151.jpg

Water is clear blue there, you are able to see very deep down. I saw that there was a small jetty built in the summer. When standing on it I could actually see an electrical pole and a street lamp underwater. I tried to make this photo as clear as possible but its hard to see anything on that, still here it is. It looks like it's not deep but there were 15 meters of deepness under me. Water is just so fckin clear.

DSC_0154.jpg


DSC_0156.jpg

There is a wall going underwater and comes back up on the other side.

DSC_0157.jpg


DSC_0158.jpg

Here you can see pretty nicely the stuff and trash that is underwater.

DSC_0159.jpg


DSC_0160.jpg


Some very old bushes under the water that still havent decomposed after 30 years.

DSC_0166.jpg

I strongly hope you enjoyed my finding the autumn beauty series with me. Give me your thoughts in the comments.




Untitled-4.png

Sort:  

stunning photos!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=greddyforce
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=chasing-the-beauty-of-autumn-part-4-walkig-around-in-abondoned-prison-area


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hiya, @livinguktaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable mentions list in today's Travel Digest #360.

Please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting the Travel Digest if you like what we're doing.

There is something about abandoned jails; and all humanity and time time wasted there. Great post.

Thanx! Yea, ther is.These prisoners were once used as workers for the quarry.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 56948.01
ETH 3056.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40