1500 Mile Motorcycle Adventure Beings Tomorrow

in #adventure7 years ago (edited)

Adventure called. I answered. Again.


Overlooking Crested Butte, CO in the summer of 2016

Tomorrow morning I embark on a 1500 mile, maybe more, motorcycle road trip to Tennessee. My 2004 Honda Shadow has been with me through many adventures in many states and regions, and this summer will be no different.

I ride with a motorcycle owner's group called Shadow Riders America. We are not a Motorcycle Club. We don't have a clubhouse, territory, prospect periods, officers, or anything like that. The only requirement is that you own, or have owned a Honda Shadow, hence the name of the group. Our mascot is an Oily Crow that rose from the ashes of chaos, and we refer to ourselves as Crows. Our gathering are called Murders, and mini-Murders for the smaller shindigs.

Our main source of communication is the Devil's Network, and for our purposes it has served us well. This is our fourth annual memorial ride, the first being in North Carolina, followed by events in Arkansas and Colorado. At the time of writing this there are over 1800 members nationwide. I have seen members of a Facebook group go WAY out of their way to help another Crow they have never met. The family that has developed based on the love of a particular motorcycle amazes me every day.

My 04 Honda Shadow 750

My Shadow has been T-CLOCK'd (safety inspections), maintenance such as oil changes and fluids are good to go, filled up with gas this morning, and the bags are almost packed. This will be my third annual ride, because I didn't know about the group until the first one was over. This year we have over 120 bikers from all over the country, coast to coast, converging on a little 900 person town for 4 days. I'm going to be meeting a lot of new family this weekend.

Rubber down. Shiny side up. Knees in the breeze.


I will try and post as I go on this adventure, but I may not get anything done until I return. When I do, this Crow will be a little wiser with stories that are the stuff of legend.

Steem On!

Sort:  

Very good condition of the motorcycle. Probably the boss is very supervise :)

Awesome... I respect the squads attitude about biking. Often times, a motorcycle group seems very much like a gang, and it only perpetuates a negative image! Love the vibes, good luck and be safe (:

SRA has a great attitude collectively about riding. Positive vibes abound with these folks. I went the 2nd annual, not knowing what to expect. I figured, I live close enough, I get there and don't like it I will ride home. I stayed, and made it point to go back the next year. Now I'm headed back again. For me the first annual I went to was a life changing experience. I know the same is true for others in the group. Thank you for the well wishes on my journey!

This is so exciting!! Best of luck on your travels, my friend! I hope you'll be blogging along the way. Take us with you!!

Thank you very much! I hope to do some steeming while I'm out and about. I will for sure be taking pictures. I will be playing in the Possum Trot Saloon on Friday night for this rowdy bunch of bikers. I'm gonna try and get some video. May try to do one for open mic with a live audience. We will see. I don't even have a set list yet. lol.

I just hate posting on my phone. lol. I've got a tablet, even though it ain't much better. :)_

All you kids whining about posting from your phones...and that's the only way I've ever posted. Lol if I were in front of a computer posting I wouldn't even know what to do. BAHAHA!

Think I'm jealous lol

Sounds like a good adventure. Be sure to upload a video or pics. Enjoy :)

Good luck on your journey! My husband likes to do big adventures like this. He did a trip from PA to FLA on his Honda Goldwing and then traded it in for a Mustang and did a road trip from PA to California. Keep the shiny side up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57852.72
ETH 2355.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44