Winter wonderland getaway to Waskeseiu Saskatchewan.

in #adventure6 years ago

20180305_120747.jpg

Last weekend my wife and I finally had a chance to get out of the city(and away from our kids) for a night. We went to The Hawood Inn nestled in the summer(!) resort town of Waskeseiu Lake in The Prince Albert National park.

20180305_120643.jpg

This town is a bustle of activity during the summer with no shortage of activities and scenery to fill your time. The winter however brings thoughts of warm weather getaways and Waskeseiu is forgotten. I say embrace the winter!

20180305_120704.jpg

We came for the peace and quiet, only one hotel is open and only a couple of people were there. Perfect. Most of the roads are not even cleared during the winter.

20180305_120616.jpg

What do you do in these conditions? There are many cross country ski and snow shoe trails. Also I was able to finish 2 books I was reading.

20180305_121558.jpg

The cabins are all empty.

20180305_120718.jpg

The R.C.M.P. have to travel around in 4x4's. And the warm up shack is even full of snow!

20180305_112859.jpg

Stay tuned for pictures from our ski and snow shoe adventures.

DQmZ3MaPcmTgfe9awXtYfyRHsBQkZknPWK413TFNoNLarTn_1680x8400.png

Get out there and embrace the winter! All photos are by me with my chilly old Samsung Galaxy S6.

Oh yeah, there is a hot tub on the roof of the Inn-the perfect winter getaway.

20180304_203823.jpg

Sort:  

Wow its a really beautiful park...great view loved the snowy snowy environment....thanks for sharing @edthecanadian

Looks like a great time. Peace and quiet. Reminds me of the resort towns up north here.

That looks amazing. So tranquil. Oh and to be away from the kids for a while -- bliss. I can't remember the last time I had a good uninterrupted read.

Great pics
cheers
Anj :D
akdivider celtic.png

OK, I was thinking you were a little nuts about what "vacation" means until you got to the hot tub. Winter sports are all good fun so long as there is a hot tub waiting at the end!

I won't be offended if you call me nuts🥜🌰

I've seen you and the cars... I guess it is a matter of degrees at this point... LOL! But for the record, I have no use for normal people. If I ever met one I would tell them so!

This place looks so beautiful, sadly I won't be able to go there without freezing myself

Yeah, we're tough here.

This winter thing is very scary for me
I wanted to come to canada for an overseas study but I dread the winter.
I dont kniw how I will cope

Just put a jacket on.

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

wow beautiful photos! i've never seen snow in real life maybe i will one day :)

Come to Canada-we have lots!

snow is beautiful and it is great in short spurts but after weeks of it you just want it to go away.

Yep, I'm about done with the cold. We have above zero temp for next week so the mess can start now.

Good to see ya! 😊 I never knew you were here...I just got active about a couple weeks ago... followed and resteemed

Hi there🙌 I have some Leavit realitives around here and in New Brunswick. I think it's spelled a bit different than you do.

The Leavitts originate in Cardston, Alberta. Hundreds of years ago in that town were two families only, The Leavitts and the Cards. Ive never seen it spelt slightly different before though, with one "T" instead of two. Ive also seen it spelt with no "A". But as we grow and spilt things gradually change....such is life

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68068.52
ETH 3873.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64