Sights and sounds from Ice Racing in Canada.

in #adventure7 years ago

20180218_100020.jpg

Yesterday(Saturday the 17th) was the annual ice race in Rosetown Saskatchewan. The temperature was about -13° celsius, but the wind was up and being in an open field there was no reprive from the it. Nevertheless the race must go on!

20180217_214825.jpg

If you missed my last 2 blogscheap race car and race car preparations then you wouldn't have sern these crazy tires we use to race on the ice with.

20180212_214313.jpg

This is my friend Donovan doing some repairs between rounds.

20180217_192928.jpg

20180217_214854.jpg

20180217_121545.jpg

You may have to expand this panaramic view of the field we we're in.

20180217_141525.jpg

In the never ending quest for speed we removed the front fenders from the lowered Civic to fit the larger more aggresive tires.

20180217_214954.jpg

The green Pontiac Sunfire seemed to be out simply to bump into other faster cars. Twice it appeared to intentionly pile into the green Honda, poor car is really getting banged up☹

20180217_152743.jpg

20180217_135512.jpg

I'll do a full feature on this car soon. It's had quite a life so far.

thealliance_thealliance_syndicates_pagebreak.png

The pit area was full of activity despite the cool temps. There was a food vendor on site, they built a wind break with some boards.

20180217_214938.jpg

A Pontiac Grand Am was dressed up as Lightning McQueen. It was a crowd favorite.

20180217_214605.jpg

Every car was trailered to and from the event.

20180217_142938.jpg

20180217_142916.jpg

20180217_121531.jpg

A little door ding. Not likley from a shopping cart🛒.

20180217_214915.jpg

thealliance_thealliance_syndicates_pagebreak.png

So how did we do in our "left for dead Honda"? We had 4 different drivers out to have a good time and the car performed flawlessly! It wasn't fast enough to claim the title of "King of The Ice" but we brought home $1200 in winnings!

20180218_104803.jpg

Next year we will have to up the game a bit more!

thealliance_thealliance_syndicates_pagebreak.png

Check out this short video I took. At one point I was a little concerned for my life!

thealliance_thealliance_syndicates_pagebreak.png

I'll try to get some pictures and videos from my old computer of my old racing days with a full on race car for some future posts. Also I'll do a feature on the Tahitian Green Civic above.

DQmZ3MaPcmTgfe9awXtYfyRHsBQkZknPWK413TFNoNLarTn_1680x8400.png

As always all photos are from my dirty old Samsung Galaxy S6. I'm @edthecanadian embracing the frozen Canadian winter!

Sort:  

So how did we do in our "left for dead Honda"? We had 4 different drivers out to have a good time and the car performed flawlessly! It wasn't fast enough to claim the title of "King of The Ice" but we brought home $1200 in winnings!

Congratulations!

Great pix, too. How long has this event been going on?

I think this is the 4th year for this event. I did race with my local club about 9 years ago until it became too expensive.

I've never been to an ice race but that looks like a lot of fun!

Those tires wow! Are those spikes just manually added to the tires with some washers or are they special tires too? They look like sharpened bolts to me.

They're just plain old tires with bolts through them. These ones have been sharpened but that hasen't proven to be a benefit over unsharpened.

Wow it looks absolutely freezing! And I moan about a bit of frost on a morning. Super pictures, looks a fantastic fun even - really like Lightening McQueen! Video was really good, the Honda has a super tuned throaty roar now - or was the exhaust on the weight reduction list! That long straight was a pretty scary position to be stood in!
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

The car is so loud isn't it!

Cool, literally! I live in Sweden, we have a rally on the lake where I live every year.
Next weekend I am going to go to a world record speed attempt on ice. Gonna be everything from Rocket sleds to motorcycles and some seriously high power cars. They are hoping to break 325kmh average over 1 mile (last years record, also a world record).

Oh my goodness 325! I hope you get some of that action up here on the blockchain.
My car hit 110km/h on the straight yesterday, but I've reached 180km/h in my old race civic on ice.

wow. most definately have never heard of an ice race nor seen tires as such. did you guys make them that way? I am sure i have never seen tires as such for sale...

Many many years ago there was a "spec" ice racing tire available but not for a very long time. These are quite easy to make, just time consuming. My next set will be more aggressive.

Awesome video. I haven't been to an ice race for years! I worked in Rosetown way back in the 70's and lived in Saskatchewan for about 20 years. The wind blowing across the open prairies can be a bitch. Looks like you had a lot of fun!
Thanks for sharing.
....upvoted followed and resteemed

It's nice to meet you, thanks for stopping by my blog😁

It's gotta be just about as much fun you could ever have in a car😁

That looks VERY cold and just a little crazy... lol!

It was only a little cold and very crazy😛

I was trying to be polite... lol!

This looks like an insane amount of fun, except maybe for the life in danger part. $1200 is a nice haul - did I hear them say ther 21 was out in front? That one doesn't look like much, but maybe those are the ones you have to worry about. Anyhow - thanks for sharing this. I had no clue this was a thing and it looks hella fun.

Yep 21 was a full on face car that showed up and stole the show. It's super fun, you should try it!

Really enjoying this series and te McQueen car was cool and congrats on getting some winnings

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 61779.77
ETH 2434.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62