Quit your job and move to the mountains!

A few years ago, my girlfriend and I were completely bored at our jobs and ready for a big change. We had lived in the same area for most of our lives and wanted to see how hard it would be to start over somewhere else.

We spent a couple of months saving and getting rid of most of our possessions. Then, in the middle of february 2014, we took off toward colorado.

Driving through the plains of Kansas as fast as possible was our first goal. After that, nothing was planned. The only goal was to travel until we found a spot we loved. Then we would try to settle down for a bit there (until the itchy feet started to hit us again).

We passed through Colorado,

Utah,

Arizona,

and New Mexico

before deciding to go back to Colorado and stay in Ft. Collins for awhile.

After a couple of months, we found out that my girlfriend was pregnant. After a couple weeks of violent morning sickness and exhaustion, the amount of homesickness was too much. So we decided to head back home near her family and get ready for the next adventure in a few years.

We took a trip to Las Vegas a couple of weeks ago and it reminded me of how much I love the desert. I love a good party but I'd still rather be in the mountains.

Any similar stories or destinations we should check out on our next trip?

Sort:  

People in real, have very low needs. At certain age turns out that they only want a little bit of silence away from cicilization.

You covered some ground! I have a brother that moved out to Loveland, CO from Nebraska and I think he will stay there forever. Golf in the summer and skiing in the winter. Hope all goes well with the new addition to your family! Up-voted and followed.

Thanks! I can't wait to get back to Loveland someday. We only went because I randomly read an article about it while we were in Flagstaff, Az. I hadn't heard anything about that area before.

He married a Colorado girl and they love it there. I need to get out there and visit them sometime soon. I used to spend a lot of time in Colorado, then a ski injury sidelined me for awhile and didn't have as much reason to head that way.

That's terrible. I got a good concussion from snowboarding before our trip. Brought my board, but didn't have the guts to use it haha

Sorry about the concussion. I broke my knee into a bunch of pieces. I think my skiing days are done, but still appreciate the beauty of the mountains.

Were you staying at the SE corner of MGM? Nice pics btw.

Haha yup. My partner had a business conference there

Congratulations ! Your post has been highlighted in the Daily Travel Reports

What a great journey @dismemberedhippy, and having the guts to actually do it in the first place. I'm partial to the desert myself, so on your next adventure, go wherever you love most, maybe a different part of Colorado or maybe Utah.

Thanks! Moab,Utah was my favorite place. Tried to find work for about a week and ended up moving on.

Yeah, the landscape in Utah is insane, I can understand why you'd like it. Keep blogging away on Steemit and then be able to move wherever you choose , without needing to find work :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60984.38
ETH 3379.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47