How I Went on a 48 Hour Ether Gaming Binge And Got Into A Feud With The Developer Of Ethercraft

in #adventure6 years ago (edited)

mafiso.png

It’s 4:30am Pacific Standard Time in San Fran, but I told all my internet friends I live in Eastern Standard Time, somewhere in southern Mexico. I don’t think they believe me. We are playing a crypto game and I haven’t slept for 48hrs.

EtherDungeon feels like snorting a line of cocaine. I play with friends from all over the globe. English is the lingua franca, and eth is the unit of value. We 2x, 4x, 10x. We lose it all and we threaten to hunt each other down. No one has SWATTED anyone yet, because we are all anonymous.

This is the fun part of the internet.

I doubled my money since I started. Then tripled, quadrupled, and quintupled. I don’t know the words that come after that. Neither do my friends. We use shorthand. I 10xed. Ten times what I started with. I guess I should be happy, but I just feel numb.

It sounds like I'm being dramatic, but that's really the way I felt at the time. You can tell by the short sentence structure that I needed sleep. For some background, I've always been a shitposter. Even in real life. Maybe it's because i'm slightly autistic, but I've always been a troll. You can imagine my glee when I discovered discord.

Some more background, I was promoting the EtherDungeon game on certain unnamed anonymous image boards, and seemingly out of no where, a lot of anonymous posters started calling it a scam. Now this isn't necessarily strange, anonymous image boards are known for trolls so I didn't think much about it at the time. But it got stranger still, when all the trolls started posting images of EtherCraft and telling everyone it was a better game.

ethercraft.png

Now that's a bold faced fucking lie.

EtherCraft is a jpeg ICO (a term I coined myself.)

They sell jpegs, and for everyone that buys the same jpeg after you, you get a small amount of money. That's called a ponzi scheme. They claim that they have a game in development, but no one has seen the code, so at this point you just have to take them at their word.

In crypto, taking people at their word is a very dangerous business.

So this is where things get interesting.

After I made a few comments about how I believed the EtherCraft developers might be talking bad about EtherDungeons, the EtherCraft developer showed up and confronted me. Now I'm sure what happened next is not what he expected. After I pointed out that he had published no game code and asked him how much of everyone's money he needed before he published a game, he eventually left. Then today he responds with this medium post.

Unfortunately for him, in the medium post he used the same images and information as he did on the anonymous boards, to again try to discourage people from playing EtherDungeon. In internet lingo we call that "dun goofed" or doxxing yourself.

So now I know that I was right. The developers of EtherCraft are talking bad about any other RPG style games on the block chain, so they can keep getting those sweet JPEG ICO bucks. Well, I needed to blow off a little steam after he argued with me for forty minutes (during which i numerously pointed out that he had a "game" to develop), so I came up with a plan.

On the anonymous image board, whenever I would post something positive about EtherDungeon, the EtherCraft developers would call me a "pajeet". Pajeet is a racial slur for someone of Indian origin. I think such talk is disgusting, and view all of humanity equally and with kindness, but I thought, if being Indian is such a terrible thing in their eyes, maybe I can use this to get back at them.

I immediately opened DWorld (another game) and bought these plots, referencing a popular meme.

Then I sent the developer of EtherCraft the link.

At the point of this writing, the king of JPEG ICOs still hasn't responded.

EDIT: He responded. He told me he hopes I get brain cancer and denied a refund. I wish I was joking.

Sort:  

Come join the 1st ever Mythereum tournament with great rewards for win.

2.5 ETH for the top prize.

1 ETH each for 2nd and 3rd place.

0.25 ETH each for 4th and 5th place.

https://steemit.com/gaming/@thehermitmonk/25awse-welcome-to-mythereumthe-fantastically-distributed-collectible-card-game-sign-up-now-for-the-1st-ever-tournament-to-be-play-on

Loading...

While I do agree that EtherDungeon is a more develop game, I'm not sure if this really occured....I'll take this under consideration though and will proceed with care. I haven't bought anything from them yet. Only claiming free items...

It definitely really occurred. I can show the entire screenshot. Pep has admitted it in multiple chatrooms.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63824.30
ETH 3420.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54