Panama Adventure: Climbing a Volcano

in #adventure6 years ago (edited)

Many people come to this part of Panama with high hopes of climbing our volcano, Baru. I am not one of those people. I appreciate Baru, and the lovely views he provides, from afar. My husband, on the other hand, is one of those who finds joy in challenging opportunities, like climbing a volcano! Sit back, like I did, and enjoy the photos of his hike up the volcano.

IMG_9378.JPG

It all started as he ventured out in the dark at 5:45am with two friends from the neighborhood. Our neighbors are from Canada and are here for five months. They have a family member in visiting who wanted to climb Baru, so the challenge was on. Within a few days, the plan was made and they were off!

2018-04-25-PHOTO-00000328.jpg . IMG_0395.JPG
My gift from the hike

Apparently there is a new rule that you must be down before 4:00 in the afternoon so that you don't have to be taken out by careflight. With it being sort of rainy season, you never know what you're going to get as you climb the mountain. Thankfully they did not get rained on yesterday!

2018-04-25-PHOTO-00000327.jpg

They arrived at Paso Ancho where they would begin their climb up around 6:15. They encountered some great photo opportunities along the way, but it started getting cloudy around 11. If you make it to the top on a cloudless day, you can see the Caribbean Sea on one side and the Pacific Ocean on the other! At a height of 3,475 meters high, Baru is the highest spot in all of Panama.

2018-04-25-PHOTO-00000330.jpg . 2018-04-25-PHOTO-00000329.jpg

The Paso Ancho side of Baru is said to be the more difficult side to climb. Most people go up the Boquete side and come back down there. The Paso Ancho side is also the more scenic side. The Boquete side now has a road that a 4x4 vehicle can drive up almost to the top!

2018-04-25-PHOTO-00000325.jpg

At times, he said it was like climbing up a ladder where you had to be using hands and feet to go up. Sometimes it was just a hiking trail. One of the friends who went said he was tired of the breathtaking views as he had to stop every few feet to catch his breath!

2018-04-25-PHOTO-00000324.jpg
.
2018-04-25-PHOTO-00000323.jpg

Around 12:00pm I received a text from him that he had made it to the top. It took them around 6 hours to go up the Paso Ancho side, which isn't bad! He said no one younger than 13 should try to make this climb. The very top of the volcano has a ridge with cell and satellite towers that are visible on a cloudless night from our house. They sure look huge in these pictures!

baru10.jpg
.
baru9.jpg

The crater of the volcano is visible in this picture. It is the part where the lava would come out if this volcano were not sleeping (and we sure are glad it is). Baru erupted about 500 years ago and is about 1600 years old. It has erupted 4 times in the past. Let's keep that number at 4 eruptions!!!

baru8.jpg

At the TOP of the volcano, you will find this sign telling you the rules of climbing Baru. Rules like, follow the guide you should have and don't pick flowers. Probably would have been good to have one of those signs at the bottom as well as at the top! Again, tourism is not where Panama gets its money (the Canal is).

baru7.jpg

The very top of the volcano has a cross placed in the ground. It definitely makes for a nice picture! If you make it this far, you've done a great job and your reward is a hike back down! Thankfully the hike back down should only take about 4 hours if you go on the Boquete side.

baru6.jpg
.
baru5.jpg

About 12 hours after leaving the house, the husband arrived back at home (and that included a 1.5 hour ride back from Boquete). He said he is a little sore and got some blisters on his feet. He ate a few protein bars and drank lots of water while climbing the volcano. I know he's happy that he went and I'm happy that I stayed home with the kids! We sure were happy that he made it back alive!

IMG_0393.JPG

If you're ever in our part of Panama and you're really itching to climb Baru, know that I'll send my husband up with you and watch your kids while you're up there! Ha! Perhaps I can convince @panamapilgrim to start using his account again and post the other pics and tell his side of the story!!

1panama ben fb.jpg

!steemitworldmap 9.059013 lat -79.471001 long David District D3SCR
Check this out on the steemit World Map

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high quality travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

Transparent-Discord-Travel.png

Great!! Thanks so much!! :) I appreciate the upvote and the discord group. :)

Hello, extraordinary pictures, beautiful view and I imagine you had a wonderful experience enjoying that natural paradise, greetings @apanamamama

Thanks for stopping by! Yes, it's a great view!

I would totally climb the volcano! You know what they need, though? A zip cord for the way back down! Too bad about those cell towers, though. Maybe Baru will clear his throat and they'll disappear...

Those cell towers get knocked out, you won't be hearing anything from us for a very long time! No cell service, no cable, no internet...it would be like 1980! They might be ugly, but they keep us in business. ;)

Ha! Well, I survived the 80's! Hrm... I should get that on a shirt. "I survived the 80's." Have a Rubik's cube or something behind the text. It wouldn't be as fun as the completely random English ones you get down there, though :-)

hahaha that's hilarious, "I'll send my husband with you." That makes me smile that you posted about your husband's hike but you didn't want to go. Is it REALLY steep and difficult?

I love hiking, but not the scary kind of hikes because I'm clumsy and I just know I'd fall off of the edge if it's too steep or not wide enough.

So maybe I'll sit back with you and sip mojitos or something and your husband can still go alone haha

He said it was difficult and if he says it is, then it is. He works out a lot. I stayed home and watched kids and babysat another family's kids. :) He said it wasn't like he ever felt like he was going to fall off and die. It wasn't that kind of steep climbs, but just difficult at places.

I'd be right there with ya! Haha if an experienced person says it's difficult, I'm not touchin' it lol

Wow, looks like a wonderful hiking trail.
I love hiking/climbing on mountains... (mostly here in the Alps in Europe) :)

:) That sounds really nice!! I bet I could be convinced to hike in the Alps!

Nice picture lik it

What a great hike. Lucky for you you just stayed home and relaxed and let your husband take all the photos 😂 thanks for sharing. Beautiful views of the mountains

Lol - I know. It wasn't a bad day for me and he was worn out! :) I was babysitting 7 kids... ;)

Babysitting 7 kids is probably the harder job hahah. Great photos either way

It would be really fun to climb a mountain like that! Exhausting, but fun! @ironshield

Yes, he was totally worn out when he got back. He had a fun time though. If you ever make it this way, be sure to bring some volcano climbing clothes. ;)

very cool pictures and what a great tour you had. That reminds me Volcan Poas in Costa Rica, it's very simmilar

Yes, I think we drove up to Poas years ago but it was too cloudy so we didn't get to get out. :)

well maybe you can go on another time :)

Great photos! This is one of the trips/ hikes I would have liked to do but I couldn't. Not with my son. Hopefully next time I get down there, I will do it. Glad to hear your husband's trip was fine and had no unpleasant incidents.

Yes, he said on the Boquete side, you can basically just drive up it at this point, as long as you have 4 wheel drive. That might be the only way I'll go. Ha. ;) I'm just glad it didn't pour on them the whole hike.

I met one person from Boquete who worked up on the station in the volcano and he said the same thing about going there with a 4x4. I was a bit reluctant to go given that my son was even younger back then.

They said they recently improved and widened the road up there. My husband said it wasn't any worse at most points than dirt roads around town! I, however, really don't want to do it in our car. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64149.44
ETH 3145.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53