What do you do when you're stuck in the driest desert on Earth and you want to Snowboard?

in #adventure7 years ago

Ever wondered what it is like to Sandboard?

You may have seen it. People strapped on a snowboard slipping down a large sand dune in some desert somewhere. As an avid snowboarder who is handled more double-blacks terrains than all the jar of beers, he has popped, I am very curious.

I had been making my way up towards Argentina and needed to have a layover in San Pedro de Atacama. I had a whole day to spare but I have already biked from the Valle de la Luna and already saw most of the town and its surrounding region.

What else to do?!?

Personally, I'd rather glide on untouched powder lines at a pristine backcountry someplace in the mountains. But I am in a desert and I miss snowboarding! I happened upon a flyer in town. I followed the instructions on the flyer and discovered the outfit offering the excursion.


I'd rather have this!

The excursion takes you Valle de la Muerte or Death Valley (not to be confused with Death Valley in California) with a seasoned guide. The valley has a huge sand dune nestled in a rocky cordillera where you are able to slide down with a snowboard.

You must hike up the dune with your snowboard. The Atacama Desert's altitude is at a whopping 8,000 feet! The atmosphere is thin. A previous tour of the Salar de Uyuni, which took me a few of the greatest plateaus in South America got me acclimatized. A number of my tour mates were not so acclimated. I can see them laboring at every step up and down the sand dune.

You're given some choices for snowboards sizes and a couple of smelly boots. Then you take your choice to meet your size. There is nothing frightening or dangerous about it. I've crashed a couple of times and wiped out frequently.

Fall on your ass, you are okay.

It is definitely a safer and less painful game than snowboarding where you can tear your vertebrae and break your wrists. You could wind up eating a fistful of sand but nothing to shout home to mommy about.

Quite different in reality. Edging is non-existent. It doesn't feel as if you're in full control of the board. But maybe that is just because of the fact that it is my first time. There is also a difference in friction. The physics just will not allow for sand to have less friction than snow. As a result of this, you can not go as fast as possible as with a snowboard in the snow. Additionally, a sand dune cannot match a vertical fall of a mountain.

Regardless of its shortcomings, I still had a blast sliding down the dune. I discovered several attributes (kickers) that enabled me to be catapulted into the air like a clown shot up the skies on a human canon. I had been having so much fun I did not even notice the gigantic sunburn on my neck!

Would you sandboard in the driest place on the planet?



GET UP TO 2X YOUR VOTE VALUE >> Steem Follower <<

"Travel is fatal to prejudice, bigotry, and narrow-mindedness." - Mark Twain

AlwaysWanderlust.com

All photos are taken and articles are written by yours truly unless otherwise stated.

Twitter Page, AlwaysWanderlust
Facebook Page, AlwaysWanderlust
Instagram Page, AlwaysWanderlust

© 2017 AlwaysWanderlust.com All Rights Reserved

Sort:  

I am just amazed by the beautiful desert pictures. Those sand dunes... I bet it is harder to catch some air though.

Yeah you need to build some kickers but still nothing like the cliffs you get out in the mountains :)

Am always up for an adventure although it sounds crazy but it is also super cool

Sometimes you just gotta give it a go :)

I was in the Atacama desert early this year. Valle de la Luna and Valle de la Muerte were both beautiful. Wish I could have spent longer exploring the area, but this brings back fond memories!

Been twice :) only regret is not having spent the night in Valle de la Luna under the stars.

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 5.52% vote... I was summoned by @adonisabril! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

This post has received a 13.34 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @adonisabril

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @adonisabril to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Looks like you haved an amazing adventure there in the desert :)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49