Intermittent Fasting - Week 5 Results! PLUS some great tips for new 'IF'ers... #adsactly #ecotrain #food

in #adsactly6 years ago (edited)

Dear IF Diary, welcome to week 5!!!

THIS IS THE LONGEST I HAVE EVER STUCK TO A DIET!!!
(Ok, IF is not strictly a diet, it is more a way of eating, but still, YEY! :D)

I have lost another 1 lbs this week and I have also lost more cm’s around my waist! Slow and steady, but regular victories = long term success! :D

scales2.jpg

I have changed to the 16:8 IF protocol instead of the 18:6. I was struggling with the extra 2 hours fasting as I have been ill this week, but hopefully I will get back there again once I have gotten over this virus.

Today my hands were shakey at about 11am so I decided to break my fast 1 hour early. I have had a cold for the last 5 days and have laryngitis so I don’t want to ignore my body signals as it is constantly working hard to fight the virus.

ill.jpg

I want to point out that I haven’t added any exercise to my routine so the weight loss is purely from intermittent fasting and consuming less calories as a result. My food started out really clean, but as time has gone on, I have been eating ‘normally’; but the weight and cm’s are still coming off, which is fantastic!

One of the things I wish I had done is taken a before image of myself when I started this IF journey, but I didn’t because I am so conscious of how I look and struggle to look at myself in the mirror let alone take a permanent reminder of it.

I have taken some pictures today because I want to document my results in images so I can see my progress when I reach my target or to use to spur myself on if I feel a little lost. I am not ready to put them on social media just yet though, maybe when I reach my goal hehe...

scales.jpg

TIPS for starting IF:

TIP No. 1 - Start out with a 12 hour fasting window – It is so much easier to start with a smaller fasting window. I jumped straight in to 18:6 and it was really hard for the first 2 weeks. After a couple of weeks you will naturally find you are fasting for longer periods of time as your stomach shrinks and you get used to the routine and it becomes habit.

TIP No. 2 - Try not to cheat during fasting time. Stick to consuming things with zero calories, ie black coffee or water. There are some websites out there that tell you that you can have 50 calories or 15 calories etc, but in reality, ANY calories will break your fast. I find it is easier to tell myself I can’t have anything except for water during my fasting times.

coffee.jpg

TIP No. 3 - Don’t break your fast with a massive meal or with crappy foods. Your body is ready to be fed, but the best way to break your fast is slow and healthy. Start with maybe a couple of eggs or some veggies. This will help to avoid that insulin spike which kick-starts the ‘fat storing machine’. I try and eat my carbs towards the end of my feeding window to keep my stomach fuller for longer and the hunger at bay.

eggs2.jpg

TIP No. 4 - WATER WATER WATER!!!! Make sure you drink lots of water. I have noticed that I feel a little dehydrated by midday because I have been avoiding consuming anything, but dehydration is not cool, especially in the summer months! The headaches are hellish…

water.jpg

So there we have it! My week 5 update! Thank you for sticking with me guys and your support is truly appreciated! :D

5 weeks IF = 6lbs down!

Much love, @beautifulbullies xx

(Thank you to unsplash.com for the free images)




SS-pansies-EN.jpg


TGP_Light_Banner.jpg



Sort:  

Good luck to you, i have started to run more, will have to change some eating habits too

Thank you! :D That's great you have made some changes for the better. I really need to add more exercise when I am better. I am just conscious that my body is trying to fight this laryngitis at the minute and I don't want to crash and burn...

Oh that is smart, have to think long term

I keep my fingers crossed for you! I recently tried to start IF but it collides with my travel rule "eat when you have something to eat". 😃
So for now I'm following your progress!

haha I like that travel rule! It makes perfect sense if you are travelling! Unfortunately I am stuck meters away from my fridge everyday so I have to put more strict rules in place to loose this extra weight :) Thank you for following and supporting me! :D

Remembering to drink water is my problem, it can get rid of your desire to eat too. If you can walk a couple of miles a day it will help a lot. You need to combine the diet with that.

I am supposed to be going hiking in derbyshire tomorrow with my dad and our cameras. I am hoping this virus has done one by then! It is getting rather tiresome...

so happy to hear that this is going well for you, the tips are great as well, keep it up xx

Thank you so much! It has been a learning curve, that is for sure! xx

Wow, that is great! 6lbs is a very nice figure! Congratulations! And it is so wise to listen to your body's inner signals!

Thank you! I really can't believe I have lost 6lbs! Before I started IF, I was gaining weight. not losing it! Yes I needed to listen to my body, I am conscious that I am ill and I don't want my body to struggle to get better. I always think that if your body is missing something, it will tell you. Thank you for your support! :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by beautifulbullies (bulldogs) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations @beautifulbullies! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60003.48
ETH 2309.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49