Like Father Like Son

in #adsactly6 years ago

Ah... Teenage boys, the age after they discover cussing. The age when they realize that it is cool cussing. It is also the age whereby they would cuss in front of their teacher, if they are comfortable with them. I suppose that would be my student. As Ken managed to squeeze three F-words in a short 8 word sentence. I reprimanded him for his actions. It was at this point that I realized the wisdom behind the term, 'like father, like son'.

Image result for children cursing

Image source


Ken was not happy being reprimanded. To him, his reason for cussing consists of only one. My father does it, so I don't see why can't I. Ken looks up to his father who is the main provider of the family. His father's behavior of course is deemed unacceptable by his mother. However, despite multiple nudges by his mother, Ken's dad insists that a little cussing can hurt no one.

I of course did not accept this reason and he was punished for that. I warned that any repeat offence would mean a nice chat with his parents. If he were to repeat it after the parents meet, I would divulge an embarrassing statement that he made about a certain part of your body that develops when a boy hits puberty to his parents. Of course, I mean that in jest....or do I?

The Crucial Role Of a Teacher In This


I think at the end of the day, parents play an important role in shaping a child. The thing is, we are not perfect. I am no saint as a parent either and I do mess up from time to time. That is why I hope and rely on my children's teacher to help me right any bad habits that I may have done.

Image result for bad habits

Image source


A teacher in this case acts as a second layer in the defense against a child's learning of bad habits. At times, certain behavior such as cussing are deemed normal by some individuals. This indirectly tells the child that it is fine to do so. Ironically, some parents punish the child for cussing but yet do so themselves. This unfortunately does the child no favors and in the long run, may cause the child to rebel. As such, teachers do play an important role in shaping a child in tandem with the parents.

However...


This all can be mitigated as well if the teacher has certain flaws of their own. I remember one of my daughter's teachers would speak with a strong Chinese accent filled with fillers. Basically, 'Can you please sit down?' would become 'Haiya, You ah, can you please sit down lahhh?' Note that if you are Malaysian, you will understand how this sounds and it does affect the way a child speaks especially if they hold the teacher in a high regard.

Image result for teacher teaching


Image source


That being said, we all make mistakes and because of that, collaboration, dialogue and communication between parents and teachers are important. After all, we are all in this together and most of the time, both the teacher and parent want the same thing. That is to see the child succeed and develop into an awesome and well mannered human being.




Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://alvinauh.vornix.blog/2018/08/01/like-father-like-son/

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 215 (8/03/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Your post has been selected as #adsactlyspostoftheday :)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the @adsactly tag in the post itself.

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Thank you so much for this, totally appreciate this

hahaha
This is Life @alvinauh

Good article, @alvinauh we must remember that children in their first years are blank pages that are filled with what they see and hear. We are responsible for the formation of our children and good example for the environment that surrounds us.

That is very true, it's the controlling of said environment that can be difficult at times and scary for a parent

Great article and times have changed if I had cussed at scholl at that or any age I would have been to the headmaster for some form of punishment

I think you handled it well

Thanks man and yeah, how much times have changed, many kids don't even get reprimanded for cussing

Yeah it is a sad state of affairs

@alvinauh excelent post I am sure that we parents have the fault of many behaviours of our children, and some behaviours seem to be sane to copy by children but are not and they can remain for all their life. Be carefullllllllllllllllllllllllllll

That's true, I think kids copy the worse of our habits when we drive.. Haha, well.. At least when I drive

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Do checkout other posts made by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/created/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Great article! I think cussing is not a problem at all. We have to teach our children other more important stuff and not to concentrate on small things.. I'm not saying we should teach children to cuss, I'm just saying it's not that big of a deal... (My opinion)

Some say cussing is a sign that you are honest (scientists) and some say it's a sign that you are not raised well (people). I say: I don't give a fu*k :D

Have a nice day!


If you would like to support the educational community by delegating to @steemiteducation, please click on any of the following links. This will ensure that more teachers are supported on a daily basis.
100SP 200SP 300SP 400SP 500SP 750SP 1000SP 2000SP 3000SP 4000SP 5000SP 10,000SP 25,000SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63813.23
ETH 3435.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44