You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Telling My Son He's Adopted

in #adoption7 years ago (edited)

This is quite similar to what I've been traveling too. In fact the quote you ended your post with is the one I used to start my last post! I have been thinking so much about how to have these tough conversations with both of my kiddos. The older one now and younger one when she is much older. It's heartbreaking and scary to open that door...and so much easier to pretend the door doesn't exist..but in the end so much healthier for them if we help them through the door and navigate the information behind it. Best of luck to you as you figure out how to teach him about the love born in your hearts that will heal his.

Sort:  

Thank you so much for your insightful words. Yes, it really would be easier to play ignorant and pretend that my son was not adopted, but I can only imagine that this would be more harmful to him in the long run and very selfish of us as parents. Best of luck on your journey, I'll look out for you here on Steemit!

I will be watching for your stuff as well. It's nice to find people on a similar journey to connect with!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66566.79
ETH 3333.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70