The Adelaide Steemit Meetup March 2018

in #adelaide6 years ago (edited)

After the crushing blow of being fired by text message on Thursday, the day before Good Friday, I arrived at The Jade pub 'fashionably late' and found the Adelaide Steemit group busy interacting with each other.

I introduced myself and found the people there to be friendly and informative about Steemit and what it was that they hoped to get out of the platform as it's still in it's infancy.

For me, it was looking for an alternative to YouTube, as I had been recently removed from their Partnership Program.

But the group turned what could have been a disasterous weekend into something pleasant.
I had to leave at 8:25pm to meet someone (I had left my cap in their car) and came back.

Conversations ranged from Steemit to space travel and were fascinating. Everyone was supportive of each other and with the exception of me looking like a complete goober in the group photo, I think I am welcome within this group.
I look forward to the next meeting and hope to have had several postings here long before then.

@holoz0r @o07 @mattclarke @ratticus and others made the event special.
I hope to see everyone at the next meeting.

#teamaustralia #teamadelaide

Sort:  

Makes it very real when we're physical human beings. :)

The next one will be even better! :)

Damn sorry to hear you lost your job, that's a bit rough the day before easter.
Glad we made the night good for you :)
Was good to chat with you too, looking forward to catching up again at our next meet up

Thanks, it was great to meet so many #mallsballers and I hope to be able to catch up with people on my future visits to the state, which I'm sure there will be at least a few.

and as @holoz0r says, makes it very real when you've met people in the flesh and have a face and voice to put to their written words

Thank you for your support.

Great to meet you, mate. Didn't realise you'd just lost your job that same day.
Glad we could cushion that blow a little.
One tip; insightful, topical, supportive comments are the best way to get started, particularly now with the cooler markets.
You want to pick up followers so you have an audience when you post your content.

Hi @shaidon, if you would like to join Team Australia, please check this link for the instructions. https://steemit.com/teamaustralia/@choogirl/team-australia-new-recruits-28-03-18-and-what-is-mattclarke-up-to-now

You can respond in a comment of DM me on Discord when you're ready.

I may or may not have mentioned Team Australia to you on the day, but if I didn't, I highly advise joining and interacting with us. It's a great community much like those of us that made it to the meetup, and I'd not have found most of the members that were at the meetup without it.

You didn't mention them but others did, so it's all good. I am definitely interested.

That's good. @choogirl is onto you already, so that makes it easier to be motivated to do stuff too :)

Sorry I wasn't there this time but I hope to meet you at the next one :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61119.19
ETH 2615.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65