Gaming Addict

in #addiction7 years ago (edited)

Most people do not get addicted to video games so much that it changes their life to the worse, sadly i did. This is my story.

I have been gaming since i was just a young boy who got his playstation one as a 5 year birthday present. Back then it was different i would go play in the street with the other kids we would play games together.

In 9th grade it became unhealthy. I would play on my computer all day, and far out in the night. I was hooked. I would start my computer in the day after coming back from school at 3pm and one or two friends would come online and play for a few hours, then someone else would come online as they left. I would just keep playing until no one were online any more. This went on until i was out of High School.

Then when i started at university this became a even worse problem. Now i did not have to show up at the lectures only on the exams, and the time that i was ment to use on reading and solving tasks i used on playing computer games. Because of this i faild to take part in social life at university as well, and since i moved 8 hours away from home my social life hit rock bottom. It was at the second year of university i understood that i needed to take action. At this point i was at the start of my 4th semester with 1/3rd of the passed classes that i should have. And i said to myself i don't pass the three classes that i am supposed to this year i would sell my pride and joy. When spring break came i only passed 2 out of 3 classes. Then one of my friends told me he was looking for a better computer, and i reluctently said i would sell it to him. I sold it to him dirt cheap just so i could get rid of it and i still thik it is the right choice. My online friends were furious at me for selling it so i told them i would buy one this christmas if there is a good sale.

I have now used all the money i have from that computer to go on a road trip from Chicago to Los Angeles and i dont see myself buying a gaming computer in any near future.

I will tell more about my life after gaming, and my adventures in later posts.

One of the places i visited this summer (not my photo though). Hopefully i will get my photos sorted soon.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @zytar I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Sadly, addiction can happen. Even to things that don't make your body physically crave the thing you want.
It's all about moderation.

Thank you for sharing your story.

Great post! Would you mind if I included it in today's "best of gaming"?

I would not mind at all! Thank you for reading it.

Congratulations @zytar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hola! You are a new member so I'm feeling generous. You get an upvote and rock on!
I know how hard it is as a fresh account so I suggest you to try out @MinnowPowerUp as you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up with steem directly! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I made this post to explain the system in more depth and show how I earn over $1 a day in upvotes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59200.90
ETH 2601.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41