You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unconditional Love & Acceptance: The 2 Things That Helped Me Stay Sober

in #addiction7 years ago

DAMN...You were a drunk too.

I was from 15-27...Sunday I just hit 20 years....

I know, that makes me old.

Amazing article that summarizes what takes place. There is a saying that I am not rewarded for doing what I should have been doing all along. That is exactly what happens when we get sober. We expect the kudos, a round of applause, and the world to bow to us. Of course, most of the world isnt drinking either and showing up for work (that one tended to be a tough one for me at the end).

I can identify with the negativity. It is amazing, in 20 years, my dad hasnt changed a bit. He is still full of the defects of character that he helped to instill in me. I can see his misery and control issues today. They did not leave. He derives his worth by putting others down. I guess when your favorite phrase is "You're wrong", that tells the entire story.

In the end, we need to do what is best for us and true to ourselves. It is totally insane to live for the opinions of others. Ultimately, they are either as neurotic as we are or simply do not care.

Congrats on 10 years and keep up the inspiring work.

I wish I could give this 1000% SP Upvote.

Sort:  

Omg I love this it's soooooooo true:

It is totally insane to live for the opinions of others. Ultimately, they are either as neurotic as we are or simply do not care.

Thank you for that gem...and for writing a bit of your story here. It's cool to have found another kindred spirit <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3 <3

You know as well as I do that when it comes to this dance, my and your stories are one...it is all the same. The thinking, the reactions, the isolation and destruction of those around us is all the same.

Incomprehensible demoralization....big words but something we are intimate with.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64578.03
ETH 2533.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64