Lessons from Losing My Phone

in #addiction6 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Lessons from Losing My Phone


I've moved to Hive, along with most other people, following Justin Sun's takeover of Steem in the Spring of 2020. I believe hive is a lot more decentralised than Steem!

Sort:  

With a two year old lately I've found it hard to find time to sit peacefully to work on my laptop or phone. My daughter always climbs on me and fights to "play" with them. This past month I decided to give up and let my daughter have all of me and I'm technology free all but a few days each week. It really is refreshing to be free of my tech. addiction. It's so easy to get lost in the fun of laptops and smartphones that you don't realize how good life feels to be free of technology to spend time enjoying life.

Very well said, thanks for the additional motivation to spend time off line!

As you say, there are more important things!

Going offline feels so weird now. It's like something is missing.

The online phenomenon has also killed my attention span. Always jumping from one thing to anot

I broke my one a few months back and it was the most stress free two weeks between phones . After a while people got to know I was out of action so no one rang me . Work couldn’t contact me :Great. Had no access to Facebook so couldn’t spend time looking a “what Happened next is amazing” with some whale thanking fishermen that freed him from wire by breaching twice. My wife was happy because I wasn’t glued to my screen . It was good . Wouldn’t like to do it again mind but the two week break made me not use it as much

It is a wake up call isn't it - a reminder to spend chunks of time every day and maybe even one or two days per week!

It's all about balance at the end of the day.

It's not a bad thing to be constantly connected. in fact, it's how most of us prefer it. I know I do; most of my stuff is online, even my books. I do agree, though, regarding the meditation part. I need to follow suit, there's stuff in the otherworld I've been lately ignoring, so thanks for that.

Cheers! Happy to serve as a useful reminder!

Indeed. Thanks.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Many things that could be a lesson for us, as long as we want to think.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63101.67
ETH 2588.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74