My Battle With Alcohol Addiction

in #addiction7 years ago (edited)

IMG_20171008_181239.jpg
[Picture snapped using my infinix hot note 4]

My past is not one that I can look back to and be happy about. I have lived a life of regrets almost all my life. In this story I am going to share with you my battle with alcohol addiction.

I have been drinking since the year 2010 but I can assure you that somebody that has been drinking ten years before me have not drank much quantity than me. A family brother of mine other that introduced me to alcohol. Then he just took me out to a motel filled with prostitutes and ordered a drink for me at the bar and he went inside with a lady.

I can remember vividly that he got me a bottle of the Guinness, a small bottle. Can I say as stupid as I was I didn't even bother that it was alcohol,i just drank while waiting for him. He came back sweating I guess he had a nice time but that was not my problem. At that moment I had already finished the drink and he asked if I wanted another one I refused because my eyes were turning already so I requested to go home.

It was the first time I witnessed how alcohol reacts in the body. The reaction was not too much as I just went to sleep immediately I got home. When I woke up I was already back to normal and that was the making of a drunkard. I wish I never took that drink, not because alcohol is bad but because it turned me into something else I didn't have the ability to say no to alcohol. Then i started lusting after alcohol. I always wanted to drink. I mostly drink in the night and go to bed straight when i got home so that my dad would not notice

It was close to that time that I got admission into the university. University is filled with a lot of people good and bad, serious and unserious. My love for alcohol made me move with the unserious ones. I became more addicted to alcohol as I was always drinking everyday. The everyday drinking is not really my concern, my concern is the quantity I drink every day and my inability to sat no and take my eyes off alcohol.

This was a very big problem for me because alcohol has brought me nothing but shame, every time I drank alcohol, I always misbehave. Mostly I usually get into a unnecessary fight or say things i am not supposed to say. The funny thing is that it is when i am drunk that i think of approaching a lady. Though it gives me the courage to walk up to a lady but not all ladies likes a drunkard. And at that time i always think of seeking revenge from those that have offended me long time ago.

Allow Me To Share With You Some Of The Times I Messed Up Under The Influence Of Alcohol.

There are countless of times i messed up but allow me to share

The problem i had was not with alcohol itself. It was me that did not know when to always stop.

1

There was a lady I liked and I invited her to come over to my hostel which she did. But when she arrived as usual I was already drunk then I was just saying nonsense which I don't remember. From the look of things the girl already liked me but for the fact that I got drunk and I lost control of myself she had to stay off me. That was how I lost her

2

We went for a friend's birthday party. We went to a pool at first and i was already drunk already. We later went to a bar. I was not supposed to drink anything again but there is a strong spirit in me that makes me go against my wish. I drank another bottle of beer. I did not even finish it before i started misbehaving. I left our table and went to other people's table and started dancing with them. They noticed i was drunk and asked me to leave. Instead of me to leave i just kept disturbing them. They brought in the bouncer and he threw me out. After that day i promised no to drink again.

3

A friend invited me to a show in their area. The show has not started when i got there. He ordered for drinks and we were drinking. I was just drinking it like water. I got drunk before the party even started and i just logged out in the floor and slept off. According to my friend i vomited there and i still slept on it

4

My mum has been warning me about alcohol but i wouldnt listen. I went out to drink and i came home heavily drunk. I staggered my way home and i fell before i could climb the staircase. It was my mum and a neighbour that carried me upstairs. My mum was scared and i thought i was dead. She tried to revive me by putting pepper in my mouth. I woke up in my own vomit. My was was furious. She did not speak to me for weeks. It was then i made up my mind never to drink alcohol again. This happen just a month ago and since then i have not tasted alcohol and i pray i will never taste it again.

There were many cases in the past bit i guess this one is enough.

Thanks For Reading

If you are addicted to anything and you think you cannot stop then it is lie. You just have to discipline yourself and thats all

Read about my gambling addiction Here

Sort:  

Kudos to a brother that have seen the light. Glad you are over it. Keep sober. Life is great seen through a clear head.

Thank Yhu so much

You welcome

great post, thanks for keeping it real... i had to give up drinking 3 years ago myself, best thing i ever did. we are a society of many addictions, what starts out as fun can eventually take its toll so hard on so many. in fact, we are a society that encourages reckless behavior, from wars to booze, we too often ignore how deadly they are.

Yeah alcohol make you do stupid things.

I left the divorce papers on the dining table. Please sign them and contact my lawyer.

Meanwhile, alcohol didn't turn you into something else, you turned alcohol into something else. I really can't understand people that get addicted to beer. It's soo boring!
When there's alcoholic wines and Bailey's and Amaruler(a.k.a Best)

I used to drink anything as long as it was alcoholic but thank God now. It is a thing of the past

Ok...
Drinking is okay, it's over drinking dt is bad. Anything over done is bad

I dont do it again and there is nothing good about drinking

It's like saying there's nothing good about eating

You have made a very wrong statement here. You compared two different things

You can chain me, you can torture me, you can even destroy this body, but you will never imprison my mind.

- Mahatma Gandhi

isint your rep low already

Abeg help me ask him wella. I see him almost every where.

Hhhmmmm! This is strong! You need to #breakfree from it. I'm yet to see it as a good thing anyways and i don't have friends that drink. Perhaps, i was aware of the power of influence on time and i pick friends (not make friends).

Since you have identified it as a problem, then the solution is near. Take charge 💪

I am changed person.

To break-free from addiction of any type require great hardwork and determination. You just proof how strong you are. Many friends might turn their back when one wanna step out of such addiction but strong determination help in great measure.
Nice one @ewuoso

Thanks for stopping by

I'm glad you're getting better bro. Not sure if it's my place, but lemme throw down some unsolicited advice.

Write down the worst thing you've ever done on a small piece of paper, fold it, and put it in your wallet. Every time you feel the urge to drink pull it out and remind yourself it's not worth it.

It's a tough fight, but you'll get there.

thank bro

Baba, you are strong. You overcame both your addictions. That's beautiful. Lemme discipline myself too. Mine is sleeping.

funny addiction

Sorry to hear that man, alcohol is a basterd!!
When i was young we always used to drink, smoke and party on the streets in the neighborhood and in the shopping centrun, but here in The Netherlands you get a 60/70€ fine for drinking in public.
Have had way to many of those.
I rather stick with me weed now, funny thing i always smoke everywhere outiside not once have the cops given me a fine for that.
Have a nice day!!

HAHAHA. THANKS FOR STOPPING BY

not for everyone and it's good that you recognize it does not react well for you. Many people deny it for 20 years before they accept it so good for you :)

Thank yhu dear

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49