My Actifit Report Card: October 1 2019

in #actifit5 years ago (edited)

Interesting building features in the city

Nothing much exciting to write about today I had a busy day with meetings and such and didnt get out for a photo walk as such so just a few quick photos taken while walking around today

Today while walking I was looking up at some of the cool details on buildings and tats my focus for tonight's post starting with a couple of shots of the top of the Central Synagogue which is on 54th Street between Lexington and Park Ave

Central Synagogue_.jpg

Sony A7iii 154mm F6.3 1/400 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



These are on the roof of the Central Synagogue at 652 Lexington Ave, which as built between 1700 and 1872 and was designed by Henry Fernbach in the Moorish Revival style, its hard to get shots of the whole Synagogue so for these shots I focused on these features on the top of the building, which I think are called globular domes with some cool details I think

Central Synagogue_2.jpg

Sony A7iii 96mm F5.6 1/640 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Some shots on my little walks today

I guess I started looking up as I walked through the main concourse in Grand Central this morning and hence this shot I know many commuters are in such a rush when they pass through this area on the way to or from work that they probably seldom look up and see the impressive ceiling and details here, but it is something I do appreciate each day I pass through here

C889427EF8354DAA8602182ED2C7D0B1.jpeg

iPhone XS
Click here to view larger


THi next shot it os he spire of the Church of the Holy Family on 47th Street

29282A79772449FA863B6CDD473E8068.jpeg

iPhone XS
Click here to view larger



Of course me being me I cannot do a looking up post without at least one shot of the top of the Chrysler Building, may favorite building in the city

82818EFB1D894A0D88B7DC5DE0B55E86.jpeg

iPhone XS
Click here to view larger


Now this isnt exactly looking up, well it is looking up a little but i like the contrast between new and older buildings in this shot

8AF81245C4C6408CB97389FB60DEFC37.jpeg

iPhone XS
Click here to view larger


OK make that a shot or two of the Chrysler Building, I like how te arrows on the building in the foreground point the Chrysler building from this angle

24E2C882EF85420BB98562394F1269E7.jpeg

iPhone XS
Click here to view larger


And on my lunchtime walk I took this shot of the circle design feature in this building

5E9FA2EA930B40489615B75DF1F4B323.jpeg

iPhone XS
Click here to view larger


And finishing off with a new building going up on 46th Street, The structure you see is the external Elevators they use to take people and equipment up to the various levels o the building, I know its hard to see but at the top level ( well the second level Below the top level with the square like boxes) of the elevator you can see a order but of course up there he looks so small

56755D14B70A4AE0BAC81FEC8BB419A8.jpeg

iPhone XS
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA-jj2.jpg

steemusa is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord



tatooddj.png

thealliance_tattoodjay.pn?update=true


!steemitworldmap 40.75936 lat -73.970546 long Central Synagogue Midtown East NYC d3scr

11759
Daily Activity,Moving Around Office,Walking

Sort:  

Hi, @tattoodjay!

You just got a 5.47% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

That Chrysler building gets me every time @tattoodjay! :) The architecture is just incredible!! Love those domes on the synagogue as well, they somehow don't seem like they fit the building...hmmmm Love your photos today, thanks for sharing @tattoodjay

Ohh I do love the Chrysler building I did the first day I saw it and walked by it every workday for over 16 years and still love it as much as I did the first time I saw it
I know what you mean about the dome s;)

Really like the ceiling at grand central.
Also your right not many look up or even around them these days.
Most are too glued to their cell phones to actually take a look around.

Ohh yeah I see that all the time especially in the city people os focused on their phones they bump into people or things it gives me a chuckle I must admit

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just resteemed your post!
Week 3 of my contest just started...check it out!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thanks Kindly truly appreciated

That’s a great post for a “not much to write about” kind of day! 😊

LOL thanks writing has never been my strong point :)

@tattoodjay I love the old buildings and love looking at your pictures, makes me want to visit again. Do you know this place, I live in Roseland Florida and was happy to see Roseland on this building.

P1010061.JPG

I seem to remember there is or was a Roseland LOnge or club in the city but I dont think I have any shots of it

@tattoodjay thank you, I can not remember where I took the picture but I am thinking it was within walking distance of time square. But I could be wrong.

It could be the roseland ballroom, it isnt far from times Square I will try and swing by it sometimes soon

@tattoodjay a ballroom? Do people still ballroom dance? If so, I wish I would have gone inside, I would have loved to see people all dressed up ballroom dancing.

From Wikipedia I found this about it source
The Roseland Ballroom was a multipurpose hall, in a converted ice skating rink, with a colorful ballroom dancing pedigree, in New York City's theater district, on West 52nd Street in Manhattan.

The venue, according to its website, accommodated 3,200 standing (with an additional 300 upstairs), 2,500 for a dance party, between 1,300 and 1,500 in theatre style, 800-1,000 for a sit-down dinner, and 1,500 for a buffet and dancing.[2]

The venue hosted a wide range of events, from a Hillary Clinton birthday party, to annual gay circuit parties, to movie premieres, to musical performances of all genres, including Beyoncé's Elements of 4 show and internet stars Team StarKid's Apocalyptour National Concert Tour. It was also known as the place American singer Fiona Apple broke down during a concert in 2000.[3][4]

The rear of the venue faced West 53rd Street and the Ed Sullivan Theater.[citation needed]

On October 18, 2013, it was announced that the venue would close on April 7, 2014. Lady Gaga completed a short residency as the last performer before the Roseland Ballroom closed.[5]

@tattoodjay wow how interesting, It must be bigger than it looks from the outside. It really has some great history. I can only imagine the people who graced it's door and stood, or danced on its floor. How wonderful it would have been to go inside. I thank you for all this info. I was there in 2009 so it was still open, an opportunity missed.

Love the domes. They are so ornate and interesting. I wonder what the green part is made of.

I also love that round hole balcony. Very cool feature.

I always find those dome so interesting, I to wonder what the green is made of

I think the building with the hole is part of the Indian Mission tot he UN

Great shot in post today. I love the domes on the synagogue. I enjoy older buildings. The craftsmanship is amazing, I'm not a big fan of new modern builds. It takes away from the character of the neighborhood and area.

Posted using Partiko Android

I to prefer older buildings myself they have more style and character, but of course NYC is a mix of old and new

Chrysler building is definitely an awesome looking building. New York is home to all sorts of architectural styles, which is always fun to look at. Thanks for sharing!

!BEER

Command accepted!

Thanks for your visit, yes NYC is such a mix of styles for sure

View or trade BEER at steem-engine.



Hey @tattoodjay, here is a bit BEER for you. Enjoy it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56298.58
ETH 2463.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32