You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Actifit Report Card: October 1 2019

in #actifit5 years ago

@tattoodjay I love the old buildings and love looking at your pictures, makes me want to visit again. Do you know this place, I live in Roseland Florida and was happy to see Roseland on this building.

P1010061.JPG

Sort:  

I seem to remember there is or was a Roseland LOnge or club in the city but I dont think I have any shots of it

@tattoodjay thank you, I can not remember where I took the picture but I am thinking it was within walking distance of time square. But I could be wrong.

It could be the roseland ballroom, it isnt far from times Square I will try and swing by it sometimes soon

@tattoodjay a ballroom? Do people still ballroom dance? If so, I wish I would have gone inside, I would have loved to see people all dressed up ballroom dancing.

From Wikipedia I found this about it source
The Roseland Ballroom was a multipurpose hall, in a converted ice skating rink, with a colorful ballroom dancing pedigree, in New York City's theater district, on West 52nd Street in Manhattan.

The venue, according to its website, accommodated 3,200 standing (with an additional 300 upstairs), 2,500 for a dance party, between 1,300 and 1,500 in theatre style, 800-1,000 for a sit-down dinner, and 1,500 for a buffet and dancing.[2]

The venue hosted a wide range of events, from a Hillary Clinton birthday party, to annual gay circuit parties, to movie premieres, to musical performances of all genres, including Beyoncé's Elements of 4 show and internet stars Team StarKid's Apocalyptour National Concert Tour. It was also known as the place American singer Fiona Apple broke down during a concert in 2000.[3][4]

The rear of the venue faced West 53rd Street and the Ed Sullivan Theater.[citation needed]

On October 18, 2013, it was announced that the venue would close on April 7, 2014. Lady Gaga completed a short residency as the last performer before the Roseland Ballroom closed.[5]

@tattoodjay wow how interesting, It must be bigger than it looks from the outside. It really has some great history. I can only imagine the people who graced it's door and stood, or danced on its floor. How wonderful it would have been to go inside. I thank you for all this info. I was there in 2009 so it was still open, an opportunity missed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56766.86
ETH 2492.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36