Tidy Friday - Talking about SteemCampUK: February 15 2019

in #actifit5 years ago (edited)

Today I was at LCB Depot, one of Leicester's small business hubs, meeting Chris Slowe as part of my quest to talk to people about SteemCampUK.

SteemCampUK takes place on Saturday 6 April at Phoenix Arts Centre, just around the corner from the Depot. Everyone is welcome - book your place here

It's called the Depot because the building and yard used to house the bus depot. Now it's home to 52 creative businesses plus meeting rooms, cafe with plenty of workspace and free wifi, and a business growth team funded by European Regional Development Funds.

Chris is the Project Co-ordinator and responsible for all kinds of interesting things for children and families and young people. There's a big event coming up at the beginning of Science Week with lots of weird and wonderful activities going on. I asked him what he had for old people like me and he went and got me a cup of tea.

I told him all about the Steem blockchain, as far as I know it, which kept us busy for an hour or two, and Chris told me all about living without broadband (imagine!). He's thinking about getting a Nokia dumb phone with a 3G (or 4G or even 5G, I can't remember) and using that as a mobile hotspot for working with his laptop.

There's lots of interesting groups going on in Leicester with people Chris thought might be interested in Steem:

DOCK Leicester up in Exploration Drive in the Science Park, home to award winning workspaces for the hightech industry. (By the way, did you know PPL PRS - the music licensing organisation - is based in Leicester)?

Then there's Leicester People's University offering monthly sessions on radical topics and Culture on the Offensive and TEDx Leicester. Plenty to keep me busy :)


Chris introduced me to a new genre of pubs: old man pubs. The Ale Wagon was one, he said, on the corner of the same street as the Depot, and the Criterion Free House in Millstone Lane was another.


I spotted this poster on the way out of the Depot about the legendary Lloyd Coxsone at the 2Funky Club in Leicester's West End. One way and another, I'll be meeting plenty of people to talk to about SteemCampUK.

Here's the latest post from @steemcampuk by @lloyddavis, co-host.



7370
Walking

Sort:  

Chris not having broadband doesn't surprise me too much @shanibeer, there are many who just want nothing to do with the internet, but I say this mostly because at the local library they send job seekers there who they discover don't even know how to switch on a computer let alone get on the internet, and no I'am not kidding.. and so there they learn a few basics.

I cant imagine not living with broadband, that sound nuts in this day. Enjoy Steemcamp UK

Yeah, doesn't it? I'm sure my eyes popped when he told me. But he looks well and healthy ☺

Posted using Partiko Android

Either u or chris should do a presentation to those "interested" people and vimm it to the STEEM blockchain! It would be really cool to watch! And if u could get the community involved in the chat maybe it would attract them even more!

Leicester sounds awesome!

Ha ha, that would be good! One of the things I like about social media reporting is capturing the spontaneity of people talking, it's much more interesting and engaging to watch; @lloyddavis, co-host for Leicester SteemCampUK, is much more skilled at that than me. I can't even remember to take photographs when I'm doing reviews for tasteem.io!

Leicester is awesome!

Great work yr doing. I guess if you have free wifi at work you don't really need it at home. Good way of saving £30 a month!

I was trying to explain steem to an economist the other day. It's much easier to explain the benefits from a crude return perspective!

Posted using Partiko Android

I agree, the returns bit is the easiest to explain.
The thing I'm struggling with is explaining how Steem acquires value (aside from whatever is happening to Bitcoin). I know value is created by the size of the network and user-generated content and attention ... but how is that monetised? I need a few sentences for my script, if anyone could help me!

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 52.25 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 7370 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 4.14% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Congratulations @shanibeer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 1000

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67975.29
ETH 3240.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66