#needleworkmonday - Creative Sewing Workshop: October 8 2018

in #actifit6 years ago (edited)

image.png
I took this picture yesterday walking in the Botanic Garden around the corner from my house. I was really interested that all the flowers in bloom had autumnal colours - various shades of reds and yellows.

image.png
Here's my first attempt at sewing in about ... er ... twenty years, I think. We had an hour to make something, there were lots of scraps around. I thought I would make a case for my dressmaking shears. I was very pleased with myself because I remembered how to thread the machine.

image.png
Everything in the class was brand new and needed unwrapping from it's packaging. This machine has an interesting brake built into it so, unless you change the setting, it sews really s-l-o-w-l-y. Good for beginners or if you are doing something very intricate. I found the little sewing case in Sainsbury's for £4.99 (I'd bought it for a different project). The thread is rubbish.

image.png
The centre is brand new. This is the little seating area where you can make a drink. It's very homely - mugs in the cupboard, tea and coffee in canisters and fresh milk in the enormous fridge.

I'm looking forward to spending time here. The sewing room is very well equipped and everyone is very friendly and proud of their new centre. One of the other women in the class lives nearby, we might do a car share which would be great.

I posted awhile ago about some of the items I would like to make - mainly tops and tunics and the wide legged northern soul trousers I posted about a few days ago. Maybe some cropped Chanel style jackets as well and skirts with a jersey yoke.

I've decided I need to get another notebook for fashion and sewing ideas. This one will have to be A4 with a strong strap to hold it closed as it gets crammed with ideas and pictures and samples.

So exciting :)


Meet me at SteemFest 2018 in Kraków



10105
Daily Activity, Walking

Sort:  

Yes ! it's really exciting to start sewing again, @shanibeer !
What sorts of patterns will you be using in your course ? I'm really curious :D

Sewing is a lot quicker than knitting! The things that I've looked at so far will be taking a pattern from a garment I already have. The first one is a summer top, although I quite like the jersey top that @neumannsalva made. I have done a pattern drafting course (long ago) and a dress form would probably help. I've looked at a çouple, but I'd like to be able to adjust the shoulders more.

This is so cool, a sewing workshop! I would love to have something like this near me. Sadly the shop (where I am always tempted to by fabric) stopped doing its "sewing cafe", a kind of free meeting. I am always so stressed out by sewing, I could use some nice company.
And your slow setting on the machine... perhaps it was made for me :-DDD I find these mashine way to fast for my liking (snailsewing for me)
Sadly I missed your "wide legged northern soul trousers " post. I have to look it up. Trousers are still intimidating me, but nevertheless I am willing to learn.
Looking forward to your creations <3

Thanks and watched :-D I have never heard of northeren soul... I hope with the trousers comes a story <3

Look at that shiney new sewing machine! This is so cool that you are getting back into sewing. I would say we’ll be learning together but it sounds and looks like you already have some experience.

That center looks nice, peaceful and cozy. I wish you many great days of sewing there. I look forward to seeing your projects surface. 😉

I did learn at school and used to make my clothes as a teenager, but for some reason, I stopped doing that when I started working. I've had a machine for years, I can't even remember when I bought it, possibly in the 1980s. I was very put out one time when we were burgled - they took the TV and some credit cards but not my sewing machine!
It'll be fun to share our experiences as we both go along.

Wooo back on the sewing horse! Right on. Did you finish your scissors case?

I sat down to do it yesterday so I could take a picture of the finished item for the post ... and cut right through it in the wrong place! I still need to make a case for the scissors. They sit in a pouch on the side of the sewing machine at home, but they need more protection if I am carrying them arround.

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!
You have accordingly been rewarded 63 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 10105 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 6.68% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit reward structure has changed recently, and the new rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.
    To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
    To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

rulersig2.jpg
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Hi @shanibeer!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.708 which ranks you at #13105 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 181 places in the last three days (old rank 13286).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 285 contributions, your post is ranked at #146.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You just planted 0.05 tree(s)!


Thanks to @kimbolo86

We have planted already 4545.81 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 20559.38
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

you are very comfortable there. I like your sewing machine although I don’t understand them at all :)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62980.29
ETH 2631.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82