Race Day Cometh {A Steemy Run}

in #actifit5 years ago

Just a quick little update today as I logged some solid steps in my last preparations for my next race! I have mentioned a few times I am joining in this year's 50th running of the Peachtree Road Race. It is always held on the 4th of July and is quite the event here in Atlanta.

I am just one of 60,000 people signed up to tackle the heat, hills and humidity that are infamous in the city. Luckily the Atlanta Track Club puts on a top notch 10k event with tons of water and plenty of support to keep us running safely. Today I made my way downtown after the dentist to grab my race packet, which gave me the nice shot above in Centennial Park. The kids seemed to be having a blast playing in the fountains on a hot summer day!

Coincidentally my race bib matches the gear I already picked out for race day. 😜 I suppose I just need a little red if I want to be really patriotic. Plenty of people dress up in all kinds of fun outfits to do the race, but I'm definitely more concerned with comfort than appearance. Running 6 miles in the heat is tough enough without chafing!

I accidentally linked my one way walk to the expo to pick up my packet and the run I joined in on with the local run group this evening, but it wasn't a big deal as I had to walk some in the scorching heat anyway. I believe I did almost 5 miles tonight in 95+ degree weather. Dang that was brutal! At least I know I'll be starting at 7:05 Thursday morning for my start wave, so it should be at least a little bit easier going than tonight was. My big goal for tomorrow is mega hydration to start off the race on a good note. Luckily many of the yummy goodies from my farmers market haul have a high water content, so my healthy vegan meals help top up the body fluids along with lots of water drinking!

I'm focused on finishing a solid day of work tomorrow and then resting up for the fun on Thursday! Looking forward to sharing with you all this local running classic. 😃

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png


14392
Running, Walking

Sort:  

Awesome! You got this! Definitely hot, but they'll keep you hydrated. Have a great time!

The Atlanta Track Club did a fantastic job with having plenty of fluids! They had water at the start, finish, and all throughout the course! No messing around when you have that many people doing a race. :)

Ugh that's miserable 95 degrees with high humidity. That is awesome that they go above and beyond to take care of the runners. It takes a worry off of you too. Good Luck, I hope you reach your goals.

Yes, it's nice not to have to worry about having to carry water or other fluids with me as they have water all along the course. A few spots where they spray water if anyone wants to cool off, too. One year I did it they had a lot of people have to go to the medical tent from heat stroke, so I really hope everyone is smart tomorrow and knows their limits! I have absolutely no shame in walking if need be. :)

Wow that's going to be brutal in that heat. But I know you've trained for it and you will respect what you body tells you. You Go Girl! I'm rooting for you having a fun and satisifying finish to the event. All those healthy farmers' market veggies will be in your favor.

Yes, they're already trying to prepare everyone to be smart in the heat! I am definitely going to take it one step at a time and make sure I don't overdo it. This one is tough to set any records at anyway given that there are 60,000 participants! I want to enjoy the rest of my holiday, so I'm just going to go out and try to have fun. Oh, and earn some Actifit tokens, haha! ;)

Good luck in the race xxx By comparison I just watched s five day run through ice cold in the Himalayas stopping to sleep for just two hours then continuing through blizzards and wind haha the things we humans do!

Wow, I don't know what's worse--the heat or a blizzard! I think I'd rather a one-day race in the heat in this instance for sure. I couldn't imagine going 5 days in the frigid mountains!

Good luck my friend! Hydrate, hydrate!!! We just stayed in one of your lovely state parks the other day and it was 97 degrees! Ugh! Perhaps starting at 7 am will help. I'll be cheering you on, can't wait to hear how you do btw, love your race attire :) I know you'll have a fabulous race!

Oh it is brutal right now! They're already sending out all the race morning warnings about not trying for a personal best and if you're not heat acclimated to just walk it. Yikes! Luckily I've been running in the heat some, but I'm definitely still not going to go out guns blazing. I will make it to the finish line after stopping at each of the water stations and I've been guzzling water all day today in preparation. :)

Thats an impressive number of runners and a touch of red will really make the nice touch to your running gear

Good luck int he run

The bandana made for a great sweat-catcher, too. ;) I could totally wring it out when I was done running!

Thats cool I used to wear a sweatband on my head and wrist when I ran, and they would often need wringing out a few times on a good long run

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 62.5 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 14392 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 0.76% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

You are in such great shape.. fruits water content are help with hydration.. good luck on the run. :)

Aww, thanks! I try my best to keep up the daily activity. Setting goals like doing these races always helps keep me motivated to push myself to new adventures. :)

Awesome @plantstoplanks

Glad to see you back on it again. I hope it went well.

Gaz

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks Gaz! Would you believe I actually posted twice with Actifit this week? Haha, definitely a solid week of activity. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53699.14
ETH 2213.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28