Slaying a 7-Miler {Half Marathon Training Check}

in #actifit6 years ago

Hey guys and gals! The past few days have been pretty jammed again, but I got plenty of "me time" today during my long run. Spring starts officially tomorrow, but we've been lucky enough to enjoy some nice weather and today was no exception! Another perfect day for a long run--mostly sunny with cool air and a gentle breeze.

After knocking out 6 miles fairly easily last week I had 7 on the docket for today. In the past this distance has always been a sticking point. It always seems to be a bit of a challenge to get over that hump, but today's run felt fantastic! Perhaps it was just the beautiful weather, or likely my consistency last month helped. Either way my legs felt strong even on the hills and I felt like my heart rate stayed pretty steady.

I probably did run a wee bit too fast for a long run, so I will make sure to dial it back as my distance increases. I've made the mistake of overtraining before and don't want to do that again. Luckily @dksart left me half of a juicy orange to gobble up as soon as I got back to the house. Vitamin C is great to combat the oxidative stress of hard training. 🍊

I'm feeling great overall with this first phase of my half marathon training. I think I have a good mix of a pretty solid plan, yet still have room to adjust as needed each week. Up until I hit double digits on the mileage of my long runs I'm happy with one long run, one solid speed/tempo session, and 1-2 easy shorter runs. I am also hitting the gym as usual with a few strength days split with an upper and lower body focus, a plyo and functional lower body day, and of course joining in with my core class once a week. That leaves at least one full day of recovery since I can double up on an easy run with either the upper body or core workouts. Definitely going to be feeling strong for spring! 💪

Happy trails my friends!

PHC-Footer-05.gif


15127
Running

Sort:  

That is some serious fitness training you have going on! You'll smash that half marathon no problem! Good pace as well on those mile sections, you'll be laughing!

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm definitely ramping things up right now, but so far so good! Now I just need to make sure I don't eat everything in the kitchen, as well. 🤣

Congratz, your post has been resteemed, upvoted and… featured in The Daily Spotlights of March 20 2019! Check it out to see who nominated you…

Aww, thanks so much!

Nice one @plantstoplanks

It is tempting to do that little bit more and over do it. Flip side is managing the little aches and pains you get as you're building it up. Keep up the great work.

Gaz

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks Gaz! It really is all about finding the right balance--pushing hard enough to hit goals, but not too hard that I get injured. Hit an easy four today with some friends, so rest on the running end tomorrow. ;)

Awesome. I shall follow with interest.

Great that you notched of the 7 Mile goal and found it better than expected :)
I do remember back when I used to run, decades ago LOL, running was a great time for me time and to think things through , I walk a lot now but its not quite the same

Running really can be so cathartic. If I can get in a good groove like today, there really is nothing like it. I am starting to appreciate walking for its merits, too. Might not be quite the same, but still gets you outside and moving your body! 😉

Yes I do agree I did 7 Miles today but over the duration of the day and all walking, I cannot sit in the office all day so I try and get a walk before work and during Lunch to help me keep what little sanity I have left

Nothing like a nice spring day for a long run :) When will you run your first half this year? Your times look great :) you're a great inspiration to all of us @plantstoplanks! Happy running!

Oh it's been so lovely these past few days! Cool overnight, but then by this time of day it is just stunning! The allergies are knocking me down pretty hard, but the good thing is being active helps alleviate the symptoms temporarily. I just walk around with my trusty box of tissues everywhere until it settles down. My half is on the calendar for Memorial Day! So I've got a few months of training ahead to be ready. This will be the latest half I've done in the spring, so it may be a bit warm by then but I'm sure I'll make it through no problem. Always nice to get up early on a holiday to get some activity in before any celebrations (or pool time) later that day. 😃

Nice to see it’s till all of the same familiar names on our pages. 👍🏿 I’ve manages to gain a few followers, though, you—any luck with new followers?

Did you know I’m fairly certain I’ve only been intimated one time in the entire United States of America? There’s probably a few but one thatvstands our, one that planted “I won’t be going there again” in my head—Columbia, Georgia. Oh dude....

Keep up the great work, tref! <— I just made that up.

Sounds like there is a story there @dandays...Perhaps you'll share that one sometime. 😉 I don't believe I've been to that part of the state before, so I don't have any impressions myself, haha.

I'm finding some new folks here and there. Some new faces each week on Mondays, and I finally started jumping in on some of the Steem fun on Twitter so that has helped expand my horizons a bit. Always nice to see the familiar faces sticking around, as for a while it seemed there was a massive jumping of ship.

Tref= training chef?? 😜

That’s you, Tref!

I cannot run, haha! Got to love some oranges though.

The oranges were delicious! ;)

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 64 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 15127 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 1.79% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Thanks @actifit! Looking forward to hanging out on the show tomorrow!

Great job Katie! The weather is warming up, so it should get easier 🌼

So happy for warmer weather! Just makes everything so much easier, haha!

And to top it off--one of the farmers is going to have some of the first strawberries of the season at the market this morning! Hoping we get there early enough to grab some. 🍓

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh yes! I just was them on IG!!! That is unbelievable 🍓😍🍓

Good luck on your marathon! It's so cool that you are really dedicated to fitness. Keep it up! Havea great day!

Thanks @sgbonus! I've got the momentum going now, so keeping the ball rolling. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61986.52
ETH 2406.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65