Op Human Angels: The Sock Op & My Actifit Report Card: November 7 2019

in #actifit5 years ago

Greetings, Steem fam, it's time for another #ophumanangels!

Ages ago I had read that socks were one of if not the most needed/requested item for people who are homeless, so I've wanted to do a sock op for a long time, but I never had the spare money to spend. This past month I was really hurting for groceries for me and the cats, and overdue on my electric bill, and so many friends helped me out, I got my needs met and wanted to share the blessing. So when I bought groceries at Target the other day, I bought a pack of socks! :)

I wrote little notes that said "for you" on one side and this on the other side:

And once they were dry from washing, I put one pair each in baggies and set out to stash them where I'd seen homeless folx spend time.

The first pair went in the green space behind an MHCD building (Mental Health Center of Denver) on a picnic table:

I had also made and brought another period pack to leave in the porta potty in the park nearby, but it was gone! I wonder if they always move it once it starts snowing? I had seen homeless women sleeping in that park and using the porta potty so I thought it would be a good place to leave one. I guess I will leave it in the library again unless I think of a better place.

Then as I was beginning to despair being able to ninja socks in bus shelters without anyone seeing me (as there were commuters at every stop as I walked down Colfax), I saw a group of five homeless folx talking together, so I just asked them if they'd like some socks. They said yes and so five pairs went to them (no photos because I don't want to be exploitative). Then I saw another man who really seemed unwell in another shelter and gave a pair to him.


bag o' gifts before I went out

Then the eighth and final pair went on a lightpost on a corner where I often see a veteran or a pair of people asking for change (no one was there at the time).

And that's it! #ophumanangels mission complete! :D

Have a great day and enjoy one last photo of some SURVIVOR FLOWERS (it's snowed three times here in Denver already):


This actifitter chose to donate this report's original AFIT token earnings to @schoolforsdg4 charity

5156
Walking

Sort:  

did you see the t-rex costume race at a horse track video? LOL

HAHA, nooooo I didn't see that one pls share, I did see the bride's maid who wore a trex costume to the wedding, did you see that one?

I did see the bridesmaid, lol. Here's the race:

Omg that was so great hahahaa!! Totally made my night! I only wish they would have replayed when that one t-rex bit it, I didn't get to see it fully complete its roll(s)

Screen Shot 20191108 at 5.45.24 PM.png

:) :) :) Bwa hahaaaaaa so evil of me!

I wanted to see a replay of that part, too. X3

That is so sweet and kind of you @phoenixwren! 💗 It is the little things that are usually forgotten like socks and you totally sock! :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Awww, thanks. ^_^

What a great idea. You are awesome!!!!

Aw, thank you! <3

Really kind, @phoenixwren! I discuss with my partner what can I do for homeless people often. Baking a bit more bread and giving it away was my first idea but I worry food poisoning risk. But socks! I've never came up with this. It is a good idea :) Hats may work too.

Hats are a good idea, too! And if there is a Food Not Bombs group near you, they might love some homemade bread to share! :)

Amazing your an example to us all @phoenixwren 💯🐒

Awww, thanks. I didn't start #ophumanangels though, that was @lynds!

I remember you keep it going though 💯🐒

He sure does! Phe = Real life Superhero & Human Angel extraordinaire!

For sure I need to pull my finger out 💯🐒

Ooooh more anonymous love/encouragement letters??!! WOOT WOOT!!!!! PULL that bad boy out!!!! heheeeeee

I will try need to been very slack recently. Back to it monkey 💯🐒

I was taking this to mean something very different until @lynds mentioned letters. LOL

LOL!!!!!!

D'awwwww ^_^

Awesome #op.. !tip

Thanks! :)

🎁 Hi @phoenixwren! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @davedickeyyall!

@davedickeyyall wrote lately about: The Daily Highlight Reel... Feel free to follow @davedickeyyall if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 42.275 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 5156 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 0.59% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66507.45
ETH 3328.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69