Return to the Motherland - London -> HarwichsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #actifit5 years ago

Yep Monday is waiting around the corner. The weekend is done. Time to go back home...

Spending the past days with my sister in England have been great fun. She runs a horse stable near London where she also lives in an old farm house. A really nice place to hang out and relax a bit.

It were some easy days where I helped her a bit with the horses and took some walks with the dogs.

E0CA62AC-F0A3-4BC8-B1C6-4573D425D3AE.jpeg
This is Bear, one of my sisters two dogs. Literally an inexhaustible creature! He has energy for ten!

Today after a big brunch, I pcked my stuff and got on my bike. Time for a 4 hour ride back to the ferry in Harwich.

Like the way there, it was again quite the challenge. Although the wind was in my favor today, the clouds weren’t. I had to deal with rain, hail and some snow! Quit exhausting after a while :)

Well, luckily I made it! At the moment I’m waiting at the ferry for boarding. I can’t wait to get on that boat and take a hot shower and fill up with some very much needed calories!

Unfortunately, because of the weather, I couldn’t be bothered taking my phone out for some pictures. So all I have is sime screenshots of my strava recording:

7ABD3C75-2C7C-4329-A81D-EDCAF8A52C58.jpeg
44917CAC-0D90-477F-B92B-A3758D3AB6ED.jpeg
F575C645-8BF8-4ADF-9EE9-6C1C628F224B.jpeg
8C68E435-132D-455A-9A55-312914087989.jpeg

Its interesting to see that on the data from my way to London, where I even forgot to record the first 10km, I burned way more calories even with a lower average speed (22.3km/h). Just because of the wind!

Verdict

This was the first time traveling with a minimal carbon footprint to my sister. Yes, it’s not the fastest or the cheapest (flying still is 😒). But this was, by far, the most fun experience when it comes to the trip itself. I saw the country en not just a big city like London. I met a bumch of random strangers along the way ( mostly interested cyclists and people asking why im in full cycling gear on the ferry). And I got to work on my health all at the same time. But on top of that all.... I saved a hole bunch of CO2 frim being wasted!

Next time you are booking a trip within Europe or short-distance elsewhere, ask yourself if there are better alternatives in sense of your footprint. Nine out of ten times there are. And the don’t always have to be super expensive or inconvenient!

Anyways enough talking... I hope you all had a great weekend yourself! Have a good one, and thanks for dropping bye!

Michel

5050
Cycling

Sort:  

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 36.75 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 5050 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 1.38% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

He looks like a great dog-of-steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99