My Actifit/Ulog Report Card: October 27 2018

in #actifit5 years ago (edited)

IMG_4815.JPG

My California

Today, I am showing you My California. Pretty much all my Actifit activities are an expression of where I live.

So, why not combine the “mycalifornia” contest with the Actifit Ulog.

Tomatoes are for sure something I love about California. The Tomato season is long - as a matter of fact, I have some young plants that are just getting started to produce some fruit. If I am lucky, they will do so all winter long.

The tomatoes were chopped for breakfast to go along with these delicious greens freshly picked one minute before taking this picture.

IMG_4811.JPG

There is chard; Malabar, perpetual, and New Zealand spinach; Amaranth; Kale, and more in this mix.

Chopped and combined with some onions and garlic it looks like this.

IMG_4813.JPG

Add the tomatoes and cook a little longer.

IMG_4816.JPG

To make it all super delicious and a most satisfying breakfast, ask your chickens politely to lay some eggs. Lucky for me, they did. Here is the complete meal.

IMG_4818.JPG

I don't mean to make you all jealous who already are dealing with ice and snow - but this is for the "mycalifornia" contest and a fresh meal out of the garden at the end of October is one of the things I love about living in Southern California.

Tummy full, it was time to work in the garden. One of my projects was to finish building a compost pile. Right now, I have too many other projects to do the hot compost with regular turning and such (even though that is an excellent workout). The way I am setting them up is more of a giant Lasagne bed.

IMG_4827.JPG

I am using a metal dog run as the cage and it is filled with layers of all kinds of compost ingredients. While I was working in this part of the garden, I also took care of the Bermuda grass that had grown out of proportion. First I attempted to weed whack it - but found it much easier to pull it by hand. It was like moving a gigantic carpet.

IMG_4826.JPG

I don't know if you can see, but the grass was at least that long and dense everywhere. The chickens were quite happy to receive a huge trash can full. Tomorrow, I will chop it up in their run so they can scratch it up and compost it for me.

IMG_4825.JPG

The top will be covered with a layer of earth and I am going to plant in it. You see the beginnings of the earth cover. When finished, I will place several buckets with holes as a water system and am going to plant Artichokes and a cover crop. The watering of the plants will keep the pile moist and earthworms will come and eat it all up and turn it into beautiful compost.

All that shoveling and wheelbarrow transporting of soil made me hungry. I worked outside until dark.

By that time, I was really hungry and we opted to go for the super fast and easy meal - a burger. I have organic beef patties already formed in the freezer (thank you, Costco). It is super easy to throw a couple into a pan, slice some cheese to put on top after turning them.

I don't eat bread right now, so I use lettuce leaves to hold it together. I love mayonnaise as you can see, some mustard, ketchup, sliced tomatoes, and onions make a burger yummy!!

56238471012__606F8F12-FEED-4DFF-9EC6-206DE9EB3ADD.JPG

Add the burger patty on top.

56238476594__01E14402-5097-4120-80E5-FAA709B0EE9F.JPG

Fold the lettuce over and you are ready to eat!

56238479669__16F85FED-0DAB-40DF-90D5-5A6F03F60A84.JPG

It is a little messy - but who cares! It was delicious.

I ended the day with a little dancing since I wanted a few more activity points. Shoveling dirt makes you tired and all of that, but it doesn't boost the count.

@geekorner had dropped this awesome dancing song in a discord for us. It is great for moving. Give it a try :)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=224&v=RkEXGgdqMz8



7034
Daily Activity,Dancing

Sort:  
Loading...

Love the work on the compost pile - exhausting! And that hamburger patty looked beautiful. A tough day with a well-earned reward.

I would like to eat so healthy..like you

You can!!! Just keep adding a little fresh veggies all the time :)

Wow!
It is looking yummy!!
Two excellent projects it seems. What are you going to do with natural compost?. Is that compost for selling or for your own garden??.What is the cost of natural compost in California. And all the best for the position of the writer at @steemitblog. Someone nominated you.

@kpreddy - @actifit Moderator | Chat with us on discord
Visit our website | FAQs | Android app tutorial | Video Tutorial

Oh, reacting to the nomination! wow! I have to check it out!

All the compost is for my garden - one can never have enough. As for cost of compost - it really depends. We can go to the landfill and get 1 yard of compost for free - but I don't use it because I don't know what people put in their green bins and I don't want herbicide and pesticide residue in my yard.

If I buy a bad of earthworm castings (I have to check how many pounds it is - maybe 30?) it is somewhere around $ 20.

But I compost a lot - have several wormbins and many, many compost piles :)

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!
You have accordingly been rewarded 54.375 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 7034 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 6.19% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit reward structure has changed recently, and the new rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

You got voted by @votefun thanks to mariannewest. To support development, check out Rishi556. Hosted on the @cryptowithincin discord.

I enjoyed reading your post, thank you for sharing a little part of your life and congrats for eating so healthy!

It's always a delight to have fresh vegetables from own garden. I like the dancing part at the end, so relaxing!

Thank you for participating in this weeks 'Show us Your California' contest!
SCSreplybanner.jpg

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mariannewest from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98