Path of Exile: I finished Act 1!

in #actifit6 years ago (edited)

0313DCF9-B389-40BF-B4C2-2B4E7162EC4D.jpeg

A quick dash onto the blockchain to report I have finished Path of Exile Act 1! That’s my witch character, CrankyOldWoman, who is about to walk into Act 2. Yay!!

I shouldn’t have taken so long, but I wasn’t in a rush and most of the time I was felt like I was lost on the map, retracing my steps over and over again. I only bothered to stop messing around and push to finish the Act, because I finally asked on PoE discord what level I was meant to be at by the end of the act. They thought 12-ish, and I was at 16 and still trying to find the Act’s final monster, Merveil! 😞

So peer pressure got me to get on and start ignoring all the loot and doing unnecessary trips back to town. I almost forgot to post my actifit report!

Anyway, I should write a proper PoE post, but I need to get back into the game. I didn’t expect to feel so jittery killing Merveil. She’s a Siren. Her story sounds like one of love gone wrong. She’s the dead squid thing lying on the ground. So you kill human her, she then resurrects into ugly squid lady, and you have to kill her again! Only it’s a little harder. So that was a little bit stressful.

Then rather than go into Act 2, I scoured the cavern to check out the syndicate’s fort, it’s part of the story line I don’t understand.

But that was where I almost got killed. Following @mattclarke’s advice, I’ve been trying to get in the habit of not dying, even if there are no consequences in my current league that I can see. It just feels like good practice. lol. My life level got almost to the bottom, so I had to run away a few times. The syndicate guy at the end of Act 1 was tough.

In the end, I got the job done and decided to execute him. I am so tired of the the Syndicate story line, so execution seemed like an appropriate choice. As I also complained on discord, the investigation board makes no sense to me. But @ratticus has been trying to help me understand it. So I’ll look at it closer another time.

D8F7E714-6837-4C54-A0D2-894771C19053.jpeg
(I still don’t understand the point of this board after Act 1...)

My next order of action is to review my gear and gem configuration before I move deeper into Act 2. I haven’t really been paying attention to what I’m doing there. I’m just slotting stuff all over the place and I’m not using my full range of abilities. I’m allowed up to 4 zombie minions now and I get support creatures too. I think they come randomly based on chance.

I do love my unique wand though. There’s a lot to write about, but not in this post. Need to post my steps before it is midnight.

I did an 8 km jog and walked the rest of the steps. :)

11494
Aerobics

Sort:  

Can't believe this but.....

😹😹😹
It's all @Linnyplant's fault.
So much for my firm 'No' to the game.

The kids are now with MIL at the farm, so I have gaming time! I was meant to play last night but ended up crashing, missed posting my actifit report! Just woke up to this great piece of news!! Yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy!! ❤️🎉❤️🎊❤️🎉

Remember to add me as a friend in the social tab: ign is CrankyOldWomab remember! Lol

I'm having trouble playing.....

WhatsApp Image 2019-01-04 at 1.14.16 PM.jpeg

She has now squished her body between the monitor and keyboard to give herself a front row seat. At least I can see a little better now; but she still paws at the screen. She must be trying to tell me what I am doing wrong.

btw; i've sent you a whisper

I saw this and didn’t get to replying...I reckon that super cat of yours has some thoughts she’d probably want to share at some point about PoE. 🤣😂.

So love that photo. 😍 omigosh, she’s the cutest furball on the planet.

I reckon; when I have the inventory up; she would move in front of it and check it out. Then if I am fighting the syndicates; she will move to the middle and watch the fight. Then if I'm reading things on the left hand side; she moves there. Honestly I have no idea how she knows where I am looking. Even when I have multiple windows open she knows where to sit.

I was wondering where you were last night.
I've already sent you a friend request last night. I played for a little bit trying to understand the game. It is a little different to what I am use to. As in the bags get so full quick; skills are acquired via gems, currency is in the form of items rather than coins and the cash shop items are very expensive.

I tried to create my character name as 'CrazyCatLady' but that was taken.
So I tried 'TheCrazyCatLady'; that was taken too.
Then I tried 'SuperCrazyCatLady'; that also was taken.

Seriously; how many crazy cat ladies are there in this game?

hahahaha

So I settled for something similar.....'KookyCatLady'

I wanted my character to live up to its name by purchasing various cat pets from the cash shop; but then I saw how much they were. So I guess this KookyCatLady is on a path of searching for all her lost cats.

Whether she would ever find them; who knows. Doubt she ever would.

Glad to see more people getting into PoE :)

Gratz on act I!

I never rush to fast either I just enjoy the game. There are speed runners out there that go crazy fast. Granted those kind of people been though the zone so many times they could run it with their eye closes.

I hope you stick with it minions can be fun to have!

I’m sticking with it so far. I feel compelled to check in and do something on it daily. I do love going jogging with my minion. Lol. If I end up spending more time on the PoE platform than I do on Steem — which is already the case, we can blame @mattclarke for that. 😉

I’ll need to ease back next week when I am back at work though, but I think I’ll get the hang of it enough to be part of the race come March. :)

I just noticed you posted stuff, I thought I was already following you since I’m interested in your thoughts on gaming. I’ll drop over there soon to catch up, I spied a PoE post!

Nice post :) So are you new to POE? Iam not playing this season myself at this moment though and i guess that board you were talking about in the picture has something to do with the new season, so cannot help you there. I do hear from people that the betrayal stuff is pretty cool, i might have to jump in before the season ends lol. Anyways have fun ;)

You should certainly give it a go! @mattclarke runs PoE races for steemians, I believe it’s where everyone races to the highest level they can within a set period (24 hrs, 3 days etc). So you could participate in that later too. He might have another around March, so I’m ‘training’ for that. And I think I need all that time to understand the basics of this game. Lol.

I’m just whining about the board because I like whining about stuff that isn’t intuitive. I do hope you jump onto the PoE servers and have a go though.

I’m very new to the game. Like days old. Not a gamer, I feel I need to remind people of that so they have very low expectations of my ability to grasp a lot of stuff gamers take for granted. It still keeps me entertained nonetheless. :)

When the Steem price was higher the races were 3 day events, but I had a lot of traction with the 24 hour format in December, despite the low price, so I'll stick with that for the next race.
Survive one day in Wraeclast. Sounds easy, right?

Every league I tell myself I just won't be playing this time around. Every time they do something to get me to play again! Betrayal is for sure interesting. I have not spent to much time on it myself --yet. I been kind of of ignoring it when I can while I progress. it is interesting concept to say the least and I'm sure I'm going dive right into it at some point.

You took her down. Nice :)
Act II is probably my favourite. I suggest leave town by the upper/Northern exit and clear out some stuff there before heading into the Western forest by the lower/Southern exit.
You'll get some aura options as quest rewards. I'm trialling Herald of Purity, with my necromancer character at the moment, seems like a really cool option; but you do you.
That's the joy of it :)

You’re giving me too much credit in understanding map orientation.😛 I think I didn’t go the way you suggested. I just ran around until I found an exit. I started with hanging out with Einhar, I like him. Just finished hunting with him and was checking out his beastiary.

My first impression of Act 2 is that all the foliage makes it hard for me to see what I’m doing! The animate weapon is kinda spastic too, but I’ll try that some more before I judge too harshly. As for the aura, I have a healing one I think, not used that yet.

My problem after reviewing my gear and reconfiguring some stuff is the lack of strength and dexterity naturally. So I’m working my way along the skill tree, refunded a point when I noticed I can passively get some dexterity and still work my way to extra zombies. :)
Really need to find some builds to check best path.

Animate Guardian is much better. You make a friend. Armour, shield, helmet; whatever you cast it on gets added to your ghost friend. Great way to recycle stuff that's left on the ground.
Animate weapon isn't great unless you can have some other event trigger it (this happens much later in the game). Its too laborious spamming the cast button, I find.

Animate Guardian?! I get ghost pals and dress them up with gear?! I better go hunt down how I get that. I’m actually looking for all the dexterity and strength points on the tree now that puts me nearer to all the minion skills. I’ve become too reliant on having minions. I also don’t like having to ‘equip’ for dexterity or strength. :( As you said, switching gears makes a mess of everything.

Yes, on the laborious casting. After some experimentation, I’m just not quick enough to use a lot of the abilities. I basically rely on fireball or ethereal knives and then the raising zombies that also gives me the phantom wraith like creatures.

I died again. 😭. I’ve gotten too cocky with the life regeneration, and then got surprised when the syndicate caravan dude got me. Always leaves me with a bad feeling to die.

Anyway, it’s past 4am, I’ve not achieved much in Act 2, but the MIL takes our twins away for 3 days tomorrow, so I will get more gaming time!

Nice. You've probably done more than you realise. I haven't used ethereal knives before. I tend to just make my necromancers defensive and let the summons do the smashing.

I only used the ethereal knives this evening. I had my left mouse button set on the default attack, but I never used it anymore, deferring always to my fireball spell (RMB). Now I actually use the LMB once I switched the knives in.

I wasn’t so hot on the ethereal knives initially, but after seeing Einhar’s spray attack, I thought maybe it wasn’t such a bad idea to use the ethereal knives for the increased spray. When you add the 6 zombies with the knives, it seems to clear an area much quicker.

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 56.25 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 11494 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 6.64% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64848.13
ETH 3173.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55