My Actifit Report Card: November 17 2019

in #actifit5 years ago

It was very rainy again today but I did manage to get out when it let up a bit and play some disc golf. I used three discs the Mamba and Shryke for drivers and an AviarX3 that I borrowed from my son for the putter.

I was taking two throws for each basket and taking the best position to play from. On almost all the baskets the Mamba ended up going farther and landing in a better spot. The Shryke is kind of at the upper end of what I can really throw well at the is point.

The Mamba is almost a bit to flippy for me though and I need to remember not to throw it too hard. Sometimes it can get away from me in the wind.

Here's a picture of what I think is the signature basket on the disc golf course I played today. It is slightly downhill from the tee pad with a basket around 335 feet away. The trees and road on the right make it difficult to throw. Lots of times the wind is going from left to right and if it gets under the disc it can carry it well out of bounds into some thorny underbrush.

I threw both driver discs and they finished off to the left a bit but the Mamba went a bit farther and didn't drift as far left. This disc is one of the first discs that I learned to throw any significant distance. I think it is a really nice beginner disc. I still like playing with it but I have to watch that I don't flip it over and turn it into a roller with too much power.

I was being careful today and not getting much of a run up because I was worried a bit about the new grass they were trying to put in. You can see from the picture below that someone else wasn't too worried about the grass and drove right through it. As near as I can figure the gate might have been locked and caused someone some problems. I've had that happen to me around here in a different park but I didn't drive across the grass.

The picture below is where the Mamba disc landed on this basket. I ended up making the putt from here and was really happy. The over-stable putter I borrowed flies really nicely at this distance and is a lot like the putter I lost in some leaves recently. I paced off the distance and it was 34 paces so maybe a hundred feet?

Here's a picture showing where the two driver discs landed on the next basket. The Mamba was in a better spot here too. I almost made the putt and I'm pretty sure I would have if I was using one of my own putters. The kind of plastic on a putter makes a difference and the putter just slide around the wet basket and popped out.

Next on my purchase list is some replacements for a couple of discs that I've lost recently, and (one I gave away.) For my arm speed the Wraith and the Tern work a lot better. They are kind of a priority but a new long distance throwing putter is in the mix too.


Thanks for reading! I always value your support and comments. The pictures were taken by me with my Galaxy S9+. Text and graphics copyright lightsplasher & litesplasher. Affiliated with Infinite Discs




10102
Cycling, Daily Activity, Golf, Walking

Sort:  

Hi @lightsplasher!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.647 which ranks you at #1783 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 79 contributions, your post is ranked at #60.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • Your contribution has not gone unnoticed, keep up the good work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I'm always fascinated by the depth of expertise that's involved with this game. All the different types, weights, and materials of discs, and different throwing methods.
That's a shame that vehicle drove through the new grass like that. If the gate was closed, there was probably a reason!

I think they close the gate late at night because the park is supposed to be closed and your not supposed to overnight camp in it. Closes at "dusk" is kind of a strange concept. I got locked in one time in a different park around here when my son was really young. It really wasn't "dusk" yet in my mind. I had to call 911 to get let back out because I wasn't sure who else I could find the number to at the time. This was before smartphones.

Did you get a chance to try out disc golf?

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 82.075 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 10102 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 1.19% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Looks like they need to add some fencing to the side of that gate!

I noticed today that they put some big rocks there. Few people will drive around now unless they have a skinny car or one with those big monster truck tires and plenty of clearance. (Maybe another solution would be not to lock the gate and perhaps just ticket people camped overnight in the park. Or better yet lower the real estate tax so people could afford to live in better accommodations than their automobiles. I don't know, lol.)

It is nice to go outdoors with clouds overhead so you won't get sunburned but it would be cheery if it is sunny tho @lightsplasher just continue your hobby, it really seems so fun.

The sun does occasionally come out this time of year, sometimes you have to sprint outside to take advantage of it if you see the clouds part, lol. Disc golfing has turned into a nice hobby for me for sure. I also like bike riding so the combination is really fun.

very good smartphone photogaphy brother.keep it up.

Thank you, I keep plugging away at it. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58309.71
ETH 2617.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42