My Actifit Report Card: June 5 2019

in #actifit5 years ago

I rode my ebike down to the new eighteen basket disc golf course today and got a lot of my steps done. I also walked Dog-oh. I can't put on my socks without walking Dog-oh, he lets me know what he wants in perfectly understandable ways.

The disc golf course was smelling rather rank honestly. The park people were spraying all over the place with this horribly smelling chemical concoction.

It has been raining pretty hard this evening so most of it has probably washed down into the Puget Sound by now. (The park is right next to a river that drains directly into the Sound)

I skipped a bunch of the baskets today and if it clears enough I plan to play somewhere else tomorrow. One of the neighboring communities is not quite so opulent and doesn't have the cash to spray down the grass so often.

I guess it is not so much my discomfort with how it smells as much as what it does to the environment.

Anyhow I did manage to have a nice round although I forgot to take a putter along with me and ended up missing some easy putts.

Here's a view from the tee pad on one of the baskets. Where's the basket? You might wonder. I usually walk up and look out of the small doorway like looking passage to see if anyone is in the range of the throw. Then I just throw it up throw the small break between the trees and hope it doesn't end up in the rough.

If you angle the disc just right with a stable enough disc it will travel far enough to not land in the trees or the two patches of brambles. Here's where my disc landed. This is looking back towards the tee. Too much of a fade or overpowering the disc might put it into the patches you see just to the left and right:

Here's a view towards the basket. If I had my putter I might have been able to birdie this basket. As it was I made par.

Wandering away from the smell at the rest of the course I found this intriguing gangeplank leading towards a door:

When I got to it the door was locked and there was some barbed wire over the top to prevent would be adventurers from going over it. There was a fun looking dock down by the river just beyond the door:


I feel like we need to start doing a lot more about how we treat the environment. I like a nice green grass field but there is a big cost in trying to maintain large fields like this. It is certainly not needed for a disc golf course, however, it is nice to have some mowed fairways where you can throw the disc without worry about losing it in the tall weeds.

I watched a very concerning documentary video about the insect apocalypse today. It is a bit long but worth viewing. (This is not my work but shared under Youtube licensing)

Bottom line - no insects no disc golfing. (It does take food to disc golf and pollinators are essential for food production)


Thanks for reading! I always value your support and comments. The pictures were taken by me with my Galaxy S9+. Text and graphics copyright lightsplasher & litesplasher.




10951
Cycling, Daily Activity, Golf, Walking

Sort:  

Thanks for those pictures showing how you play disc golf, that certainly makes sense. I can see now why you would want a tracker on your disc so you could find it. The course we have here is nothing like that. It is just set in the park and always mowed, there are no obstructions. I guess there is a creek that you have to throw across several times though. It's too bad about all the chemicals stinking up the place and washing down in the water anyway. We do need to treat our environment better.

Thank you. Have you had the chance to play disc golf yet?

Maybe if food prices go high in the fall there will be more conversations about what we need to do to fix the issues. I think the problems are known and solutions are out there but the will power is lacking to focus effort on treating the environment better.

They have been spraying in Vancouver for Japanese beetle, I guess they can be rather hard on vegetation but I worry too what effect the sprays have on the desirable pollinators. Then there is all the herbicides and pesticides used in monocultures. We would do a lot better with free range pastures, very few inputs and a much smaller death count.

I don't know when we are going to understand to mimic nature and not destroy it.

After all that doom and gloom. Beautiful green shots, LS:)

It was interesting to me, to hear on the video that spraying for mosquitoes kills them and their predators. The mosquitoes recover within a few days but the predators take much longer to breed and don't recover so fast. So you end up with a worse problem and have to spray even more to control it.

A lot of things seem to be really changing rapidly.

Thank you, I'm glad you liked the photographs.

Thanks for the video, it's really interesting. I learned a lot

Loads of beautiful nature pictures, playing the game in these type of environment will really be refreshing. Nice count too. Kudos.

Good actifit step achieved

@lightsplasher, After rain to some extent we can feel the uneasiness but when we see Greenery aspect of nature after rain, then green colour shines with purity.

And sometimes authorities give order to spray here and there and definitely these kind of chemical can irritate and annoy us.

Enjoy your time ahead and stay blessed.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 76 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 10951 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 1.38% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Hello my brother @lightsplasher how are you
Are you alright..?

Hi @lightsplasher!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.437 which ranks you at #2123 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 2124).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 172 contributions, your post is ranked at #69.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 63957.85
ETH 2753.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66