Surviving the Weather and Temptations - My Actifit Report Card: December 21 2018

in #actifit6 years ago (edited)

Good evening Steemians,
Hopefully everyone is doing well! We're getting ever closer to Christmas imagine that o.o time is flying. Is anyone excited is anyone getting any exciting treats that they've been waiting for? I was hoping to gather computer parts and build another computer to use for long term safe storage for the family to use but the sales weren't as appealing as I was hoping for and passed it up. Maybe I'll start buying after my GPUs are paid off rather than increase my the amounts I owe.

I missed yesterday's post with bad weather coming our way. It was expecting to be heavy rain, lots of wind and lighting and likelihood of tornadoes. Though it wasn't a hurricane it was hurricane like. But what fortune most of it missed my area. However,the wind caused minimal damage to neighbors. Tree branches were down in the streets. Thankfully no large branches fell on anyone's car. Some mailboxes were blown over from the ground, fences blown down, light poles at neighbors lawn bent over, even some power lines had snapped leaving areas without power. We had some minimal cleanup and no major damage. At least the weather brought cool weather. Finally Florida has some winter weather at 60 F, shame it's only going to last the weekend.

Today was a light errand day. Took my puppy to get groomed and take care of her nails. It's so crazy how the dew claws for some dogs can grow into the paw if not taken care of. I don't see how dogs can naturally wear it down. We waited until she was ready to get picked up from the groomers. Then my mom an I went to the gym starting over our streak. By missing one day of the gym my body was starting to catch up making me sore.

I started the gym on the treadmill. Trying to increase my speed but my stamina doesn't last. I think I'm trying to run at 6mph my low speed is 4. Maybe next time I'll try my low speed for the whole mile. I feel like I get more of a benefit from sprinting than steady pace. How do you guys feel about running and what works best for you? Prefer flat or hills? Some prefer outdoors but for me it's very hard to track pace and distance. I tend to sprint when I shouldn't. The rest of the workout was for lower body. I should start journaling the weights of the various machines to gauge my progress when moving up in weight. I tend to move the weight until it feels right and comfortable to control. All this time I've been using the stationary machines but I think by next month I'll be conditioned enough for free weights. I would like to stay nimble and limber and not ridgid from weights but not exactly sure what I can do.

Towards end of the evening was some light grocery shopping and OhMaiGosh! Never go to the store when you're hungry and surrounded by temptations.

__alastor_and_shana_shakugan_no_shana_drawn_by_ks__sample-e976eb349529aa6850a11c029ac6381d.jpg

Alastor from the series Shakugan no Shana drawn by ks

I wanted a treat but I fended off temptation… mostly because I know I have almost no self control. I would devour a whole chocolate bar without remorse. Lesigh.

When asking bixby what could help with bad cholesterol one of the things it had suggested was whey protein shakes. But one thing to consider it is a meal replacement and not a supplement. I was about to buy some until I saw some ingredients found in energy drinks like taurine and L-carnitine. I mean it's not terrible, some people drink an energy drink before going to the gym to get pumped. But with someone how might have high blood pressure it might not be a good thing and probably should be avoided. And for high blood pressure I read potassium will help reduce that. Some foods high in potassium are:
-Bananas, oranges, cantaloupe, honeydew, apricots, grapefruit (some dried fruits, such as prunes, raisins, and dates, are also high in potassium)
-Cooked spinach
-Cooked broccoli
-Potatoes
-Sweet potatoes
-Mushrooms
-Peas
-Cucumbers
-Zucchini
-Eggplant
-Pumpkins
-Leafy greens

More info on potassium rich foods and drinks https://www.webmd.com/diet/foods-rich-in-potassium

Turning Zucchini into spaghetti is amazing alternative!

For a couple of songs I've enjoyed from my workout were some electronic dance music from Will Sparks. I think I first heard his music from the Ultra Music Festival. I just love how it starts and builds up. It's so uplifting and such a unique arrangements. Certainly motivated me for my run.

Flutatious by Will Sparks uploaded by KeepTheMusicLowkey

The next song is quite different from Will Sparks. It was remixed by Felix Jaehn and he makes some good dance mixes. This song almost has a bit of tropical dance feel to it and I find it soo enticing!

Fantasy (Remixed by Felix Jaehn) by Alina Baraz & Galimatias uploaded by AirwaveMusicTV

Hope you guys enjoyed the songs, good night ^o^/”)



7325
Daily Activity, House Chores, Jogging, Running, Shopping, Treadmill, Walking, Weight Lifting

Sort:  

I listen to both songs and I like the dance beats. It's very easy to move around to music like this!

I've heard that prunes are good for removing cholesterol, and as you mentioned, they have potassium also. I have some everyday but only two, because you know, well, they are prunes!

I think if you have some food with fiber at the same time that you have something with cholesterol, the fiber tends to absorb some of the cholesterol. So have a salad with very little dressing before you have steak. But I'm not a doctor or dietician and I don't even play one on TV 😝

I'm glad you got to spend time with your dog and had another good day at the gym. Let's hope you don't get that kind of weather again anytime soon. Stay safe! 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm glad you enjoyed the songs! Heh I played the first song again to start my workout today ^o^ so far oranges, apples and kale have been in my diet recently. Prunes are nummy, I should get some. Wish I could have nanomachines giving me a live feed of my levels. I'm curious how much of an effect all this is doing to my body. I hope some of the music fits some of your dancing routine ^o^

Posted using Partiko Android

The coming nanomachines can do more than just give you readings, they should be able to kill pathogens, do microsurgery, release disease-fighting drugs, and repair us from the inside so that we look like 25 year olds our entire life! 😃

I don't think they're working on nanobots, but there's this company called Calico and you may or may not have heard of it. But it's one of the Alphabet companies. They are trying to not only prevent aging but also be able to provide regeneration. Google them! 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice stepping day 7k!
Grapefruits I heard really good against high cholesterol
Keep on postin

Posted using Partiko iOS

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 42 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 7325 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 4.28% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Congratulations @kittysilhouette! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64359.49
ETH 2619.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83