Beautiful Sunday - Sun and Swans - Actifit Report: February 2 2020

in #actifit4 years ago (edited)

I walked around a frozen lake today, enjoying the fresh air and beautiful sunshine. We have had a long stretch of gray and overcast days, so it was wonderful. And the temperature was amazing - just above freezing.

I saw some amazing wildlife, which I will get to shortly. First, here are some scenes from the snowy trails.

16FD85F1-373A-4E12-AE55-B56DD4268578.jpeg

1A8CA57E-BC41-4F6D-9492-7C2ACBA3BAB6.jpeg

F1A41BE0-0F61-43B1-9288-A6D11E2474B6.jpeg

E88FC3EA-E556-42F6-8EA9-C279CB260977.jpeg

Next - the lake itself. As you can see, we walk on the frozen lakes here in Minnesota in the winter.

37C2DF1D-FCC3-4DEB-9EBE-2C0554C7A5A8.jpeg

8A6C14A4-F6A2-44F3-9292-96DA7E5D0A66.jpeg

Here’s an overlook built out over the water.

At the very end of my walk, I decided to take this little side trip — a path that goes over a bridge and crosses a creek to a marsh.

And that was when I saw two swans! I have never seen these beautiful creatures in winter here.

AE9A4402-7F51-4596-8CDC-C916F8E86B05.jpeg

Bottoms up!

682736B7-57FB-4C47-825A-00E88F6D004F.jpeg

The other amazing thing was that I could see two other large dark birds further out. It's quite a large lake and I couldn't get close enough to see them from anywhere. My guess was that they were turkeys, because we have tons of them around here -- although I also couldn't remember seeing them in winter. I was wishing for binoculars!

C8EF4324-17F0-44BA-A88E-123567BDF51F.jpeg

After I had been watching and photographing the swans for a while, a woman with a nice camera came and joined me. She had a good telephoto lens, and said she had just gotten her camera for Christmas (a Canon Rebel), and was really enjoying it.

I asked her if she could tell me what the other two birds were, and she told me they were eagles! Unfortunately, I neglected to ask her what type. We do have a lot of bald eagles around here but you can see their white heads from quite a ways off so it must have been another breed.

EEE7D0F3-AF4E-4BED-8E5D-7F821252C70F.jpeg

Okay just a few more pictures. The creek was really pretty. And I'm so amazed that the lake is completely frozen and people can walk on it, but meanwhile the water is running beneath the crust of ice.

Thanks so much for visiting and reading my blog! Please leave a comment to let me know if you experience anything like this where you live!

0FD4231A-EE66-4969-A6E5-73D7BD01ABBB.jpeg

716690D2-BD22-42D6-9244-01A663F9F176.jpeg

Well that was my #BeautifulSunday walk!

Animated signature

Join Steem to monetize your blog


steempresslogo.jpg

Join via Steempress.io Earn money from your Wordpress blog. Get started here.

 
actifitlogo.png

Join Steem via Actifit Get inspired to move daily, get fit and earn by sharing your progress. Get started here. Or find full instructions here.

 

Steem Logo

Join via Steem.com You can also go direct to Steem (but note that it can take a few weeks to complete the process). Get started here.

Find Steem Communities


There are many Steem communities that provide education and support, and reward engagement and high quality content. Here are a few examples. Click the logos to join them on Discord:

Power House Creatives Logo

The Alliance logo

The Alliance: Join us in the Castle

Actifit logo

steempress-logo-complete.jpg

Wait, What Is Steem?


Steem is a social blockchain that grows communities and makes immediate revenue streams possible for users by rewarding them for sharing content. It's currently the only blockchain that can power real applications via social apps like Steemit.



12215
Walking

Sort:  

A #BeautifulSunday indeed! Love the first couple of pictures with the ray of sunshine coming onto the path - like you were being guided!
That is strange to see the swans still there but I guess if the water is still running and there is some open water they will stay. We have that same phonomia with geese staying over winter in Saskatoon for the water remains ope in the river by the water treatment plant. Must be the same for the eagles that there is enough food with the open water.
Have you been having a milder winter?
That creek is really beautiful, giving you some beautiful shots! I could just image how it must have felt with sunshine and milder temperatures!
Thanks for sharing!

Thank you, @porters! Yes, it was glorious. We have had some mild days among some very cold stretches. I’ve never seen open water in the middle of winter. So I do think we are overall having a milder winter. But also it rained off and on all summer and fall, so creeks were running when winter came that normally would have been dry. I think that has something to do with it too.

What a great walk and you got lots of activity steps in. We have about the same amount of snow here.

A lovely surprise to see the swans.

I couldn’t believe it! I really wonder where they normally winter

Unreal to think you're walking a frozen lake on the other side of the world and we're having one of our hottest summers here! Blow some of the snow our way please;)
Lovely photos @jayna!

Oh I wish I could! I would love to help cool you guys down!

That must have been quite a walk! The photos you took are beautiful. They reminded me of a walk I took in winter in Minnesota, in the wetlands of Eden Prairie.

Wow! This was in fact a wetland in Eden Prairie, Minnesota. Possibly the same one.

It's a small world! ;0)

Indeed it is!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account.
If you are a community leader and/or contest organizer, please join the Discord and let us know you if you would like to promote the posting of your community or contest.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you, @c-squared curators!

You sure got some beautiful photos on your walk. The swans (and other water fowl) must have heating coils in their feet, as the frigid water apparently doesn't faze them at all!

I know, right? I’m assuming it’s the same for swans as it is for ducks. They have a different circulatory system: https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.mnn.com/earth-matters/animals/blogs/amp/why-dont-ducks-get-frostbite-when-swimming-in-icy-ponds

Thanks for posting that article link. A pretty complicated system they have! Says the same thing keeps them cool when they are in water warmer than their body. Incredible. Their feet are really important!

Yeah, it’s fun learning about things like that — in the category of stuff you don’t generally need to know but it’s cool!

Your pictures are breathtaking my friend.
I think that I have seen light snow a handful of times here in South Africa and it must feel like a dream to walk on a frozen lake.
So sad, as with my ultra zoom I could have gotten those eagles for ya!
A lovely post indeed!
Blessings!

Yes I would have loved to see the pictures you could take of the birds! I yearned to get a better view of them!

I know what it's like being unable to get real look at something interesting my dear friend. Also always troubles me.
But I console myself with the thought that sooner or later I will get a closer look.
Blessings!

Wonderful photos! Those of us in the Midwest do treasure the sun this time of year

Would it be old fashioned to actually pray to the sun, do you think? Ha ha. Where are you located?

Wisconsin, near Janesville.

Ah, Wisconsin — our neighbor. Howdy, neighbor!

Hey there! We ARE neighbors!

Congratulations @jayna! This post was selected by the Power House Creatives as today's Rally Upvote Post :)

You can find the community announcement on Discord :) and it has also been shared on our FB Page and Twitter feed.

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Thank you so much! I am honored!!

What a beautiful walk @jayna...but cold!!! I remember how we used to bundle up and take those cold winter hikes. The sky is so blue! Love it

Thank you, @birdsinparadise. Yes, bundling up is a must! It helps to put on layers in case you need to peel one off. 😆

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27