Chilly Sunday walk under steel gray skies - Actifit: October 13 2019

in #actifit5 years ago (edited)

This morning I went out walking around a lake. It is beautiful year ‘round, but of course the green of summer and the gold of fall are most pleasant. It is already a bit tired and heading toward the browns of late fall, which are the least pleasant of all.

Come along, as we walk a stretch of park space and shoreline. I had a little adventure!

First is the starting point — a memorial site commemorating war heroes and veterans.

From there I walked along the paved path that would take me to various options for walking around the lake. It was very cold (about 5 degrees above freezing), and I knew I couldn’t manage the full circumference of the lake, which is probably about 4 miles.

Therefore, when I found a gravel trail that appeared to be a shortcut across the center of the pond, I took it!

There was not another soul in this area, and I was feeling pretty special. It seemed like such a pleasant thing to have this path all to myself with geese calling overhead and a cold rain falling. Sometimes that desolate feeling is kind of nice!

So I carried on, walking perhaps 3/4 of a mile along the gravel path, until I came to a bridge. I cannot emphasize enough how risky it felt to step onto this thing! It was a few planks stuck together, completely covered in goose poop and seaweed and slicker than snot!

6D40DA0A-F09F-4F3D-937C-97F066A37D6F.jpeg

But I could see the connection back to the paved path and the memorial park, and it was much closer to proceed than to retrace my steps. So I proceeded.

And I came to this:

C1F8158D-D4FD-4F26-BBB9-9D43E686D4AA.jpeg

Unfortunately, I was not wearing my rugged boots that are at least water resistant. No, of course not. I was wearing cute walking boots that would have soaked through immediately. I decided not to attempt to leap over the little flooded area and walk the rest of the way with wet, frozen feet. So I turned and started back, away from my destination.

That was when I saw the turtle.

3952876D-0B02-4055-96C0-3D01AF030C33.jpeg

Naturally, I picked him up to inspect the little guy. The risk around here is snapping tutles, which can take your hand right off. He didn't seem to be one of those, and futhermore he was itty bitty. And kind of floppy. His little legs moved a little, but he seemed to be losing his grip on life.

So I walked off the path toward the water and set him in the reeds near the water’s edge. I thought he could at least enjoy his last moments looking at the water where he had hopefully had some happy times. And then I walked away.

I got about a thousand feet away, and I thought “what if that turtle could be saved?” So I turned around and started walking back toward where I had set him.

That’s when the next thing happened that stopped me in my tracks. Coming my way, from the area where the bridge was sunk down into the water was a man. Evidently, he had made the leap across the piece of sunken bridge from the other side. Suddenly, the idea of enjoying this area all to myself lost its appeal. Honestly, it was too far from anything for me to get help or even to be heard if I yelled. This is not a good situation for a woman alone to be in. So I gave up on the turtle and turned around again and began walking back the way I had originally come, fast.

I had quite a ways to go to get back to the paved path where there would be people.

DBC77204-F3D6-484A-811C-0B0BC6462A71.jpeg

I turned a corner past some reeds and actually ran for a little while, hidden from the man’s view. I mean, I didn’t want to insult the guy. He was probably just an innocent walker out enjoying the day like I was!

Anyway, I got back to the paved path where there were some dog walkers and joggers and I was no longer worried. So I took some additional pictures of some lovely trees and buildings in that area. I never actually saw the man again after that.

4539A494-2D28-4956-AC21-D68692D5A8D2.jpeg

473593E1-5DAD-4BC1-8B25-705B99DDB4AA.jpeg

00D5F377-6744-4579-90F6-24C70EC9656B.jpeg

There was more, but I don’t want this post to be too long. I will save the rest for another time.

Thanks for reading!

Animated signature



12334
Daily Activity,Photowalking,Walking

Sort:  

Congratulations @jayna! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 78.75 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 12334 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 0.96% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Thank god you didn't leap over the little wood, your landing spot might have been slippery and I guess you can imagine what would have happened. Lol.
Beautiful count and great walk.

Yeah, I think I made the right decision! 😁

Seems like a chilly, cozy day.

If you are interested in more fitness-related blogs take a look at my account.

I'd appreciate your review of my latest articles.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62928.79
ETH 2465.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55