WednesdayWalk - looking for beauty- My Actifit: June 19 2019

in #actifit5 years ago (edited)

Today I traveled to Colorado and met up with @enginewitty in the Denver airport. We got a rental car and drove to Colorado Springs to meet up with @snook. So much fun! After a night here enjoying a cute little AirBnB, we are headed to Cripple Creek for the first ever #blockparty, organized by @thealliance!

So — if I spent my day flying, driving, and sitting around gabbing with these guys, how did I get all those steps? I’ll tell you.

At least a couple thousand were achieved after midnight, as I packed for my early morning flight. Then I added quite a few, of course, strolling through airports. When we got to the AirBnB, I had 8500 steps. We gabbed together for a long time, then went to dinner at a restaurant called Black Eyed Pea, and then when we got back I set out on a walk.

So on that note, here’s my #WednesdayWalk post, with a “hats off” to @tattoodjay.

I will say, Colorado Springs is a dichotomy of beauty and ugliness, at least in this particular area. The mountains loom spectacularly on the horizon, but I could not seem to get a clear shot of them without phone lines and development. That’s to be expected — this is a city — but the rather dismaying thing was that there is garbage everywhere.

Perhaps there is no litter ordinance?

Also, huge weeds grow out of nearly every garden, sidewalk crack and driveway. I truly hope I don’t sound snobby or judgmental. I was just surprised by this. There was also some lovely and well tended landscaping, but unkempt was by far the norm I found on my walk.

So anyway, I spent my time looking for beauty and charm — tended spaces, flowers, rock gardens and delightful roadside attractions.

Come along on my walk! We are just going to avert our eyes, for the most part, when we see plastic bottles, styrofoam plates, abandoned car parts, plastic bags and Wendy’s cups.

This little bunny posed for me twice — once in front of an old car and once near a flamingo.

Cow mailbox!

A well-tended, well-loved space...

IMG_5023.jpg

Cute garden with gnomes....

Cool car!

I crouched down amongst the flowers for these pictures... and here you may see an item or two of trash. (I had to include at least a little since I mentioned it!)

0B738B3A-843D-40E4-9D32-8071B4D91DAE.jpeg

93DC624B-A525-4B02-A0E6-56E337B5B12B.jpeg

Here was the best shot I got of the mountains.

And finally, here are a few pictures of me and my cohorts. The first was a selfie @enginewitty and I took at the scenic overlook with a view of the Air Force base, gliders, parachuters and Pike’s Peak. (And of course I have to mention that I am related to its founder, Zebulon Pike.)

Jayna-Witty.jpg

The next two are @enginewitty and @snook.

And here’s the three of us.

Jayna-.jpg

All in all, it was a great day. And there are several more to come. This is just the start of the Block Party weekend!

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png



17448
Walking

Sort:  

Enjoy your great Block Party weekend: the beginning seems really great!

I would like to be there with you!

Cheers!
@amico

Yes, we are off to a very fun start!

It seems like the world is the same everywhere, beautiful and ugly are getting together.

Interesting thought, @bluemoon!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Interesting thought, @bluemoon!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great photos of the area shame about all the trash there
Give my regards to everyone at the block party and have fun

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

I will certainly pass on your hello, @tattoodjay. Yesterday @enginewitty said he wants to come visit you in New York. 😊

Greta and he will have to be quick with luck I will only be working here for another 6 or 7 months :)

Ah! Do you know where you will go next? Way to switch it up for your #WednesdayWalk opportunities! 😁

Most likely We will move closer to the family when I retire so Most likely in Massachusetts, and yes will be new areas to walk and explore, I will Miss the city and Milford I think but everywhere has opportunities I am sure :)

Absolutely! Massachusetts is one of y favorite states. So much history. So many great towns and beautiful beaches.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I look forward to seeing more of it

Omgosh I was sooo full at that place! Did you see the little poopmoji on the restroom sign, ha! Good suggestion from 'grandma'😋

Posted using Partiko Android

What? I missed a poopmoji? Let’s go back!

LOVED the cow mailbox!

Yes I think blight is becoming more and more a visual nuisance all around the country

If anyone who sees this post is involved in @cleanplanet, or wants to support that initiative and the ecological health of our cities, and happens to live in or near Colorado Springs, there’s a phenomenal opportunity here! I’m just passing through, but I wish I could take a couple days and organize a #cleanplanet cleanup!

It all sounds so wonderful, and I love the green car

Yes, it’s quite the relic!

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 73 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 17448 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 1.15% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 63718.61
ETH 3390.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62