What comes in like a lion and goes out like a lamb? My Actifit Report Card: May 27 2019

in #actifit5 years ago (edited)

The answer, for most people who live in most normal places, is March. Not in Minnesota. Here the answer is May. That’s right! We are pretty much a month and a half to two months behind the rest of the civilized world!

What this means is that we just got past our risk of frost and can plant flowers and vegetables. It also means we most likely won’t get snow again until next November.

And fortunately, because the trees and grass and flowers know they have s short growing season, they virtually explode into leaves and flowers during the month of May.

This is my entry for @roxy-cat’s #seasonchallenge. I will also share some pictures of my garden and all the local flowering trees.

This is my “curb appeal” garden. It is the smallest garden space around my house, but I’m very proud of it. It’s loaded with perennials, annuals, five tomato plants, strawberries, basil, mint, cilantro, chives, and sunflowers. It’s quite fledgling at the moment, but a month from now it will be in full splendor.

DD740022-E538-4C33-9AE6-F47899EDC642.jpeg

This is a terraced garden in the back of the house, with a pond. I still have to clean the pond out and add my fish and flowers. It’s too small to support fish year round.

17050603-5A33-4117-9B1B-AD474B98CAF2.jpeg

These kinds of flowering trees are everywhere right now and they are losing their blossoms in the rather dramatic spring weather we’re having, and it looks like pink snow.

A74E709E-E079-48EE-B32A-8A879DF6C78B.jpeg

And finally, here’s a picture of my back deck on April 14, just a little over a month ago. The snow finally melted completely about three weeks ago, and this weekend we finally had two days in a row when it was comfortable to be outside without a jacket.

EDEE8F9F-330E-4BD8-99AB-869876494DC5.jpeg

So there you have it — a little inside look at life in Minnesota! Happy Spring!



18995
House Chores

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

Sort:  

Amazing, well maintained garden! ((: It must be so therapeutic to garden.

It actually really is, @joeylim. As much as I complain about not being able to keep up with the work to do, it is definitely therapeutic, especially when I can look out over it and see the different spaces all green and well-tended!

Your plants and yard look ready for summer! I'm wearing a sweatshirt today in Southern Wisconsin....its not summer yet!

It is definitely not summer here yet either! But a girl can dream, right?? :-)

Ha! That's what I'm doing! 😏

And it’s it’s free! And doesn’t involve air conditioning! 😁

Posted using Partiko iOS

You reminded me that they are coming to service my air conditioner on Thursday. Seems like a futile gesture at the moment, but maybe the day will come when I need to use it!

Wow that's an epic post! Great count and lovely pictures. Your garden is looking great. Keep up the fantastic stepping!
rulersig2.jpg@Actifit Moderator
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Delegate to Actifit 10SP| 20SP| 50SP| 100SP| 250SP| 500SP| 1000SP| 5000SP| 10000SP| 20000SP| Custom Amount
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app storeFAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Thanks very much, @definethedollar! Yes, it was quite a big day for gardening. Thank you for the compliment! It's coming along at last.

I grew up in Calgary and so I know your pain. Only in Calgary there is no guarantee that there won't be snow in August but there is hope:)Await more shots from your garden:)

Thanks for stopping by, @prydefoltz. Yes, I'm sure you can relate to this. We are definitely not alone here in the midwest. I do love this time of year, here, though. I wouldn't like a hot climate at all!

Me neither. Beyond a week or two mid winter:)

Wow! Very beautiful garden you have there, you work on the garden is really paying off. Well done. Nice count too.

Thank you so much! If it doesn't pay off in a nice-looking garden, I am totally going on strike next year. :-)

Thank you for this beautiful entry. I always wondered how Spring looks like in Minnesota as I often heard it is a cold area.
Your garden is amazing. Snow in April? This harsh but we experienced such thing also. 🙂

Yes, we can have snow just about anytime except July. But it's very rare in May, June, August, September and October. So at least for half a year we don't worry about snow!

I know what you mean. I remember a very hot August when I was a kid. In the morning, my grandmother dressed me up and took me to the cinema. After enjoying a Spanish soap opera like movie, we exited the building and it was snowing! You can imagine how fast I ran home as I was wearing my beautiful red dress with matching sandals. 🙂

What a great story, @roxy-cat. Maybe we will see the fictionalized version at some point!

Thank you, @jayna. I really hope I will be able to start writing again. I have so many ideas but no time. Lately I write only codes and I'm fed up. 😢
But Summer just began so hopefully I will resume my pleasant activities. 🙂

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!

You have accordingly been rewarded 84 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 18995 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 1.65% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 64778.13
ETH 2531.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68