Amazfit Stratos Vs Actifit App Steps Counter, Second Comparison

in #actifit6 years ago

This afternoon I've published a short article with my first try at comparing two activity / steps measurement approaches. Read all about it in the Amazfit Stratos Vs Actifit App Steps Counter, First Comparison.

With this article, I will show you the results of my second walking comparison attempt.

In between, I've also done a 10K run with both devices active. This report requires more time so I will produce in the near future.

OK, let's jump straight into the second test.


The Devices Compared

Amazfit Stratos sports watch manufactured by Huami with its corresponding Andriod app

vs

Actifit Android app produced by the @actifit team


The Environment

A short doggy evening walk with:

  • Amazfit watch on my left wrist and my left hand tucked into the pocket 99% of the time
  • Actifit app turned on on my phone which I tucked into my back jeans pocket

Both devices were in fairly static position. Intentionally so.


Before

image.png

In line with the @actifit team's suggestion, I did turn on the aggressive mode in the app.

image.png


After

These are the cumulative steps immediately after the walk ended.

image.png


Results

AmazfitActifitratio
1,029 steps680 steps1.51

This afternoon the ratio was 1.17.

Well, I am surprised. I expected a closer match. Yet, it ended with even a bigger difference than with the first test.

Why?


Conclusion

My guess would be that a phone in your trousers' pocket isn't moving enough for the kinetic sensor and / or the software to count it as a movement and as a step.

With Amazfit app I can easily generate 'steps' by simply shaking the phone on its front / back plane and produce a myriad of steps.

Yet, when it is safely tucked someplace it doesn't move enough in the right direction and back to produce a step.

This concept needs some more work...


Other thoughts

There once was a project called Bitwalking. It was in alpha for a long time with a working app which did count steps and convert them into tokens. These days the project seems to be rebranded as Bitwalk.

I am on their list yet waiting on the invite in vain for quite some time ...

Nevertheless, it is great to see projects like Actifit trying to build a bridge between physical exercise and crypto world. In the process they are also building a community and promoting a healthy lifestyle which is excellent.

Good luck with your project, team @actifit!


Ps: mentioning again @kpreddy and @ciuoto for them to see I am continuing to review their product. I am certain that future reviews will be more and more positive.

Sort:  

Uhm do you have other tracker on the phone? Like Google fit or similar? Just to figure out if is a phone related problem.
I have a Garmin forerunner 235 and a Xiaomi phone and I have 80/100 steps of difference in a daily step count about 10000 steps

Posted using Partiko Android

I will try other apps.

Can Google Fit and Actifit run at the same time?

I forgot to write the phone model, eh ... It is a Xiaomi Mi Max 2 with Andriod 7.1.1 and MIUI 9.6.3.0 atop of it.

Similar. Mix 2s with MIUI 10

Posted using Partiko Android

OK, it's a deal. I'll do some more testing with apps tomorrow. I really like the concept and I would love it to be a great and reliable service.

Buona notte.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for doing those trials!
Users who had prior issues with tracking activity, got it resolved with our aggressive mode setting.
The phone placement could be an issue, so please let us know how this goes so as we can improve this experience for you and others :)

You are welcome. I am glad to help.

I did a short trial walk with both Actifit and Google Fit switched on simultaneously. I'll posts screenshots later...

I guess that you have a debug version of android app? Can I try it? I would really like to get to the root cause of this behavior. It has to be software / algorithm related...

Posted using Partiko Android

buona notte to you :)

Uncomplicated article. I learned a lot of new things. I signed up and voted. I will be glad to mutual subscription))))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47