Amazfit Stratos Vs Actifit App Steps Counter, First Comparison

in #actifit6 years ago (edited)

This is just a quick comparison between Amazfit Stratos sports watch and Actifit android app regarding the steps they have counted on a short walk.

It is not meant as a final judgment or anything decisive. It is just a short remark to myself to further test both devices and glean some conclusions from the data when possible.


Before

Before I went for a walk I made screenshots of both apps. The starting counts were:

image.png


After

After I came back I did the screenshot exercise again:

image.png


Some Rationale

I did drink a coffee in between and used the phone a bit. Why is that important?

Amazfit Stratos is a watch and has its kinetic sensor on the watch, on my left wrist. I did take some sips lefthanded.

Actifit App is a smartphone app and uses the kinetic sensor of the phone. Meaning it also counts phone moves when using it. Or shaking it :)


Results

The diffs were:

AmazfitActifit
805 steps689 steps

Conclusion

The result a bit surprising. I expected Actifit to count more steps because I thought the phone will shake ie. move more during the walk. Apparently not. Or is it the watch sensor simply more sensitive? It might be that both apps have slightly different threshold margins. Or something completely else ...

I won't step into the accuracy territory here!

What are your expectations and experiences about steps measurements with various devices?


Ps: mentioning @kpreddy, @mcfarhat and @actifit for them to see I've started reviewing their product. Well, sorts of :)

Sort:  

Ciao @ervin-lemark did you try to configure "aggressive mode" in app settings?
Where is the phone while you walk?

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello and thanks for the response.

No, not yet. This will be my next test. OK, next to next. This afternoon I will go for a run and compare both devices again. Then I will go into aggressive mode :)

Does the sensor use GPS? it seems interesting to use actifit app

No, I don't think so. Step data is gathered using the kinetic sensor.

Can somebody else confirm this assumption? Thanks!

No we don't have that option right now. We have basic functionalities now and we are building one after one. But we have lot in our plans like GPS, switching to Music from with in the app, setting goals and many more. Updates are coming one after one and we are trying hard get them done as soon as possible. So please stay tuned.

Also please join our discord if you have got any suggestion or you have any interesting idea that you wish to see on the app. We may integrate any feature that our user want if it is feasible and worth.

@kpreddy - @actifit Moderator | Chat with us on discord
Visit our website | FAQs | Android app tutorial | Video Tutorial

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62497.97
ETH 3335.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47