My Actifit Report Card: October 19 2018

in #actifit6 years ago (edited)

FE84A458-3323-4491-B6D4-1314720486F5.jpeg

A question for all of you Actifitters out there.

Is there a way to post previous days’ activity counts?

I sometimes find that I don’t have time to make a post before bed, which is another way of saying that I fall asleep before I get around to making a post (other parents of young children will understand how this works). Or, as was the case last night, occasionally I find that it becomes midnight while I’m in the middle of writing my post. When this happens, my activity count resets to zero before I can press the submit button.

I tend to write posts that are slightly long and not necessarily about my daily activity, so perhaps I am not using this Dapp correctly. Nevertheless, do any of you know if there is a way around this problem?

I’m guessing that I can find an answer to this question in Discord, but I’m asking here, on Steemit, first.

Today’s Exercise:

A morning walk, some afternoon soccer, and an evening jog.

11883
Daily Activity,Walking,Running

Sort:  

Have a wonderful day @boxcarblue

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks Benedict. I hope all is well with you.

Happy to read your activities. You are proving yourself a valuable member of actifit team. Good efforts you have out in your activity count. Keep it up...

Thanks! I will do that.

Wow ! You continued your activity and it's amazing 😎
Are you on discord?

Posted using Partiko Android

No, I haven’t signed up for the Actifit Discord Server. I probably should.

I’ve been too tired from the day and I have fallen asleep while posting. It’s even harder with actifit, which is why my posts can be totally random. But for it to count, you have to submit your report before midnight your local time. So just submit and edit it later. That’s how I understand the app to work.

Nice work on your ongoing fitness accountability!

That’s my understanding too. I sort of feel like that’s a current shortcoming if the app, but I also think these posts aren’t meant to be long form. I can’t shake the feeling though that I should try to produce something worth reading:-)

I could edit my post the next day like you suggested. Maybe I’ll just do that.

You should write makes you happy/comfortable. When you have to for fitness-driven posts, it’s harder, but I enjoy seeing those who try to incorporate it their life. It’s a reminder that others are seeing the value of maintaining themselves as part of their lifestyle. It’s not easy. We could all sit on our asses and tell ourselves we’re doing good writing worthwhile posts, but do we really feel good about it as our joints are suffering from the weight of our sedentary lifestyle?

You sound like a busy man who values the time you spend on your children. I personally enjoy reading about your experiences as a father in a foreign country, and that you’re trying to get into the best shape you can. It’s hard fitting in fitness with young children. Anyway, I do make a point of dropping in to see how you’re going because I like what you share.

I appreciate you taking the time to do drop in. I know how hard that can be when you’re trying to write your own content and return comment messages, etc.

Raising children in a foreign country has definitely been an interesting experience in a lot of ways. I’m glad to be doing it though. It’s interesting and challenging for me and I think it’s most likely good for my children as well. Having never been raised bilingual and never having had the exposure that my children have to two cultures at a young age, I think it will be very beneficial for them in the long run.

Had I have raised kids back in the States, I don’t know if I would have taken on as many roles I have here in Japan. Mostly because my image of parenting, based on what I saw growing up, was nothing like that which I came into contact with here in Japan. Not to mention, my concerns about my children learning English played a big role in the active attitude I have taken toward raising my kids, as did my wife’s straight forwardness and assertive personality.

What kind of novel are you writing?

I’m very curious now. What roles and how has your image of parenting changed? My children are also mixed, but I’ve been in Australian since I was 2 y.o, so I’m very westernised. I do regret losing touch with my Chinese ancestry.

My novel is about a soldier who is transported to another realm that I’m basing of ancient Egypt. It’s an adventure love story. I’m stuck on what genre to label it as, so for now, I just call it Fantasy. :)

Well, in Japan, things like co-sleeping and co-bathing are very common, so bathing the kids (and bathing with them) and putting them to bed (not just tucking them in and saying goodnight), are two customs that are very different from the way that I was raised, and are also very different from how I imagined I would do things as a parent.

I think these two roles are generally done by mothers in Japan, but I do them in my house, mostly because it gives me more time with my kids and because it gives me time to engage them with English. My wife doesn’t speak English, so in order to make sure that my kids grow up as active English speakers, I’ve taken on a lot of the day-to-day responsibilities with them.

Also, growing up, my dad often went out with friends, played golf, sat on the couch and watched sports, so I just thought that would be normal. My wife, however, was very quick to point out how hard and exhausting parenting is and to tell me straight that if I go out to do something with friends, etc. (leave her to take care of the kids) just how much work that can be, so I kind of had to change the image I had of what a father does around the house.

I’ll have to write more later, but I think people in Japan take on new roles as they age. When you become a father, you’re a father. When you become a grandfather, you’re a grandfather. And the language reflects that.

I’ve been wanting to reply to this. I’ve just struggled to put words to the thoughts in my mind. That’s why I was a little concerned you thought I had deliberately unfollowed you. I very much appreciated this candid response.

For me, in my household, there are no expected gender roles. It would be safe to say the burden is 70/30 as far as homemaker duties—in my favour. My husband looks after me, and for his efforts, he has my gratitude, appreciation and love. I make a point to tell him this every once in a while, to let him that I love that he doesn’t mind that I take him for granted. He always smiles and asks what made me say so. It’s funny that. Because I do it often enough, but he’s still surprised I noticed he does so much. He comes from a traditional household, where his mother loves being the matriarch of the home, where she will cook dinner and ensure the house is in order. As a family, they are exceedingly polite to each other. He was the good child. My entry in his life has resulted to a lot of changes.

I’m quite simply a shit housewife. He’s a super nice and likeable guy (unlike me), he could have certainly met a nicer woman who would make more of an effort. We laugh about this often, because I’m pretty hopeless. But he tells me he’s happy, although he continues to claim that his life has been greatly shortened by the ongoing stress I give him. I take the belief that in any relationship, we have essentials that must be met, and the roles we take is as we choose to make them.

In RL, most of my contacts are men. If I had to look back, even in my darkest moments of post natal stress, it was a male friend I spoke to. I don’t have close female friends my age. I struggle to relate to other mothers. At dinner parties, when the men and women split into their gender groups, it’s always a weird and creepy thing for me. I don’t want to sit in a circle of women to do women talk. I never say the right things and I resent being put in that position. But I really love to hear how my male friends are so engaged with their children. My assessment of these guys have been they are more anxious about their children than their wives.

It was ironic when I decided to re-enter the workforce full time, the amount of discrimination I received at the upper management stages. They worried I was not ready to leave my children. They drilled me with questions my husband would never be asked even though he would be more the primary carer of our kids. He immediately noted this too. I’m one of those people where it’s hard to tell my age and people would often assume I’m much younger than I am. So even though I started the interviewing process completely open about being a mother, I eventually stopped talking about motherhood altogether. It was very upsetting to me that I had to do this. I’ve never experience discrimination or had any difficulty getting employed until I became a mother.

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!
You have accordingly been rewarded 51 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 11883 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 5.03% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit reward structure has changed recently, and the new rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.
    To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
    To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

rulersig2.jpg
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63178.17
ETH 2581.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71