Way of the peaceful warrior - Superfoods

in #actifit6 years ago (edited)

Physiotherapy

Today was an exhausting day in terms of training.

At first the alarm clock rang at 7am and I rode my bike 6km to the physiotherapist because of my knee.
It was damn cold and so foggy that you couldn't see 50 meters in the open field. I had a neon yellow t-shirt over my longsleeve and hoped that no driver would overlook me.

Although my knee was a bit worse today than usual, everything was healthy. I am satisfied and the therapist is still young and looks good ;-)Afterwards I went home by bike and made myself a delicious smoothie for breakfast.


Rms Bodybuilding Challenge

Subsequently, the Rms bodybuilding challenge was pulled through.
Today again 5 sets with 10 thrusters and 10 push-ups.
The shoulder was still well loaded from the day before xD

I paid more attention to technique and increased my weight by 2.5 kilograms.
My time deteriorated from 5:58 to 6:28 minutes. This could be due to the extra weight, because that's 8% more weight. In addition, the shoulder has quite directly given up the ghost xD

Tomorrow I'm gonna go down with the weight and see how it goes. In general I should integrate this morning training as a light unit in order not to get into overtraining.


Bicycle tour number 2

After I would have liked to fall back into bed, I sat down on my bike and reeled off another 20 kilometres.

Actually I didn't want to go in the shitty weather anymore, but I can complain after training when I'm in bed. However I was at the end, as always, glad that I have pulled through the training. Every training is better than no training!


Rest of the day

As a second breakfast I made 2 sandwitches and ate a can of herring with piquant paprika sauce. I don't think that fish from a can, which can be kept for 2 years, is very healthy, but from time to time I enjoy it very much.

After brushing my teeth I went to bed and read in my book "Human Nature" by Robert Greene until my body just wanted to get some sleep. One hour " powernap " was the result.

When I woke up, I surfed a bit through SteemIt and made myself a kale stew with beef sausage and potatoes for lunch. Very tasty and also relatively healthy. Kale and other dark green vegetables always work and I try to eat it 2 times a day.


"Superfood"

I did some paperwork and then by chance stumbled upon a post from @matkodurko, which reminded me again that I wanted to deal with the whole "Superfood" topic.

Superfood is a marketing term that describes food with alleged health benefits. Some of the positive health effects associated with certain foods are based on scientifically proven contexts.

I was always very sceptical about these "hype products" and didn't think much of them, but I didn't deal with 110% of them either. So I sat down and skimmed a few sources. Food manufacturers praised the effects to infinity. Doublecheck...
The consumer advice centre was rather averse to most of them, because the effects could not be confirmed in clinical studies on humans. Somewhere in between was the truth.


Astaxanthin

So I started to read through dozens of studies and spent all day with it.
In the end I only noticed one "superfood" and that's astaxanthin.

The short version would be that it is a carotenoid (or "super-antioxidant"), which naturally occurs particularly frequently in algae (plankton), but also in a limited number of fungi and bacteria. When other animals eat these algae in large quantities and accumulate the astaxanthin in them, they turn pink.

This is the case with salmon, trout, lobster, shrimps, krill, crabs and flamingos. Red salmon contain the highest concentration of astaxanthin in the world. "And thanks to this carotene, the salmon can swim up waterfalls and ..." - here it is applied a bit thick again.


Anyway, it has thousands of good qualities (most are not confirmed), but some caught my eye:

  • Improved regeneration
  • Improved performance, endurance, strength, ...
  • good for the joints
  • prevents sore muscles
  • lowers lactate levels in the body

The last-named was actually confirmed by a study (https://www.zentrum-der-gesundheit.de/pdf/astaxanthin-ia_18.pdf).

Ironman athletes overdose it before the competition to be more competitive, as the released radicals can be fought better. But nobody can really say how much it will bring in the end.

I personally ordered a pack today and will test it. My training workload is extremely high and the improved regeneration is the only thing that really interests me. The more rested I am, the more intensive I can train.
I will test it and report. I should notice the 1000 positive effects ;-)

You can inform yourself, but use MUCH different sources!!
If you have any questions, just let it out.


Swimming

After the 2.5 training sessions, I was particularly excited about the swim training today. Since the shoulder needs more time to regenerate anyway, the crawling could only be a challenge.

Off into the water and swimming what the stuff holds. 1 hour and 2300 meters later I was finished.
I had hoped that we would train some legs, but the focus today was definitely on crawling. At least 1200 meters from the 2300 were crawled... fml ... rip shoulder...

What was a positive experience was the fact that I got along surprisingly well with the five-pull crawling. It makes crawling much more efficient and you are much more focused on your movement and breathing. Everybody should try it. Stay relaxed and only breathe all 5 pulls. You will notice the difference when you try it ;-)

In any case a good training session and something learned again.


Then I made salmon for dinner. Yes such a coincidence ^^
100g wild salmon contain about 10% of the recommended daily amount of astaxanthin. Athletes can calculate three times the amount for themselves.

And now I finish this post and upload it before midnight; almost like every day just before :D
Long post, lots of info; I hope somebody reads it ^^

Actual Training Schedule

At least 8000+ steps on days in a row:

77 days

My competitions

01.06.2019: Toughmudder Full Race (extreme obstacle course over 18km)
02.06.2019: Toughmudder Full for fun ((extreme obstacle course over 18km)
13.07.2019: Toughmudder Full Race (extreme obstacle course over 18km)
14.07.2019: Toughmudder Full for fun ((extreme obstacle course over 18km)
Marathon and triathlon will definitely follow...

Get free Upvotes: Steemfollower
Sell your Upvotes: Steemsmart
Want to play a game and get paid in SBD? Join Steemnova!

Best regards

15852

Cycling,Daily Activity,Weight Lifting,Walking

Sort:  

Da real mvp ;-)

Just downloaded 3 books by Robert Greene(Mastery, Human nature, 48 laws of power)

Recommend Mastery to read first ;-)

Hey guysss, I'll wait with the challenges till the next week. To make proper video, I'll have to drag the barbell outside to the garden every day cuz my room is too small to ensure you can see me while performing thrusters :D Let's see what the exercises next week are and if I can do them in the mornings in my room and manage to record a good enough video :D

Congrats on providing Proof of Activity via your Actifit report!
You have accordingly been rewarded 63.625 AFIT tokens for your effort in reaching 15852 activity, as well as your user rank and report quality!
You also received an 4.63% upvote via @actifit account.
Actifit reward structure has changed recently, and the new rewards and upvotes are based on your:

  • User rank: which depends on your delegated SP, accumulated AFIT tokens, rewarded post count and recent rewarded activity.
  • Post score: which depends on your activity count, post content, post upvotes, quality comments, moderator review and user rank.

To improve your user rank, delegate more, pile up more AFIT tokens, and post more.
To improve your post score, get to the max activity count, work on improving your post content, improve your user rank, engage with the community to get more upvotes and quality comments.

Actifit is now a Steem Witness. If you believe in our project, consider voting for us

rulersig2.jpg
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 14 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 98 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72