You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Actifit Bot Development Updates

in #actifit6 years ago

Thanks for the contribution, @mcfarhat! It's very cool to see you adding new features regularly - I bet it's a learning experience for you as well, or have you done all of this before?

The user rank system sounds interesting. Is there anything you have in mind that you will use it for? Or is it just for bragging rights for the users? haha.

About the code: in general I like that you add comments explaining what each function does and what the parameters are. Sometimes there is stuff like this, which I am guilty of too, but isn't really necessary

// Database Name
const db_name = config.db_name;

Also everything seems fine for the most part, but there are a lot of little inconsistencies that bug me. I've only really been getting into JavaScript recently, so take it with a grain of salt: is there a reason why you are using var, let and const instead of just let and const? The indentation is all over the place, sometimes it's 2, sometimes it's 4, sometimes 8 haha. There are also missing spaces, e.g. you should put 1 space before the opening parenthesis in control statements. Most of these things could probably be prevented by using ESLint for example, so I'd definitely recommend you check it out.

Other than that there is nothing really left for me to nitpick (I don't have enough experience for that!) - so all else I would like to say is keep up the great work!


Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Sort:  

Thanks for a lovely review @amosbastian, thank you!
Yea i've been learning all this stuff myself! I've had a dev start this work before, but now continuing all the work and learning more technologies .. yea it's a hassle, but fun too!
User rank system will have key implications on Actifit's reward system, as it will play a value in the post reward, and the relevant AFIT and Steem upvotes - in addition to bragging rights :)
I agree with you on comments, spacing, var/let/const, sometimes i reuse some code and im just an old school JS guy who's just used to var, so i add my vars, and those let and const ive been seeing with new code. I need to wrap my head around new JS tech in more detail, so far the outcome has been good though - at least result wise lol.
I've heard much about ESLint too, haven't checked it yet, certainly sounds useful.
Thanks! :)

Thank you for your review, @amosbastian!

So far this week you've reviewed 13 contributions. Keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67753.34
ETH 3502.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82