@actifit newbie alert!

in #actifit5 years ago (edited)

First post today using the @actifit iPhone application and a vote for @actifit witness!


2.jpg


After a rather cutting comment on my recent utopian-io post, I have decided to fight fire with footsteps today and after locating and charging my aging (but still in pristine condition) Fit-bit Flex, and then installing both the app for the Flex, and the @actifit application, I set off on my feet to see if I could out-step the Lego guy from Oz - known as @michealb.

As you may know from previous content, I much prefer riding my bicycle as a form of exercise but today, the bike stayed locked away in the shed. In the past I'd jog or run most days, either outside, on a treadmill, or during a game of football., but sadly, has taken it's toll on my lower limbs and I now sport some of the most over-pronated feet you are ever likely to not see.



I've worn arch supports in anything other than trainers with a high arch insole for probably 20 years now, and although walking is OK, the additional impact stress while running means that my ankles and lower calf's get tight and start burning like mo-fo's when over-worked.

Alright, that's my excuses out of the way. Not that I needed any, right Michael? :D


Sadly, @utopian-io have suspended their witness in the last day or so, and so I have taken this opportunity to give a long overdue vote to @actifit, of whom I believe have potential to mass on-board users via the huge wearable fitness tracker market.


I would love to see something like Strava (https://www.strava.com/) appear on Steem (perhaps @actifit have plans already), where you can record your run or cycle, and compete against other users along known tracks and routes. When I spent a year cycling to work in Valencia, this app made the 13km, 7am ride far more bearable as I could monitor my progress, and check if any of my split times has made it on the leader-board for the day.


Alright, hopefully the post has arrived on the chain, and I can insert this text in quickly before anyone sees that I could not be arsed typing much on the phone :)

Cheers!

Asher



8931
Walking,Pickle Ball
Height
186 cm
Weight
78 kg
Body Fat
%
Waist
cm
Thighs
cm
Chest
cm

Sort:  

hahaha. don't need to hear excuses about not being able to get a good count in daily. but if your going to tell me yours, mine is i own a car! :) not sure if i understood you correctly but you can clock up steps by cycling or even in a wheelchair if your clever. either way nice count and nice pic lol

... even in a wheelchair if your clever.

With all due respect to those in wheelchairs: AHHAHAHAHHHH! ;)

The car will likely reduce step count at times :)

you can clock up steps by cycling or even in a wheelchair if your clever.

I guess I am not very clever, will have to look at this. Thanks!

yeah i remember someone told me you put it around your ankle. not sure really about the wheel chair just thought i'd throw that in, gaffa tape came to mind lol

I'd be worried about losing it. Although, another excuse :D

Will test it out!

Hey Asher! Nice @actifit post man! It's certainly a dapp i use a lot these days. Having a fitbit would likely really help improve the step count, been thinking about getting one too. I often either forget my phone or forget to turn on the actifit counter each day! #thestruggletostackisreal

Oooo, look at you Mr Fancy dan actifit man!!

Killin the steps!

Yeah, I wish they would put my 6 favourite bars a little closer together!

And that reminds me, it must be time for booms beers post!

Haha, oh yes, no saturday would be complete wiyhout it!

6 bars! Enough for two in each one and make it a challenge to get to the end!

He made the first "step" wayyy before you. You got no excuses ! :D

Hehe, I used it on an alt account!! So nyah!! :op

Well that's no good publicity for @actifit now is it! Fair play though, you win this time mrboom :P

Well I was trying it first. See, always careful for think ice and trap doors!!! :0)

He's a good 3/4/5 years older than me, sooo technically... :D :D

Hey, Asher, Congratzzz on joining Actifit and on a great first report!

I endorse barefoot running and walking on grass, earth and sand. Even more effective if you set the intention that all aches and stress transfer down through your feet into the Earth for healing as you start and a couple times during your walk if you remember.

Do you walk in the sea water along the shore too? If not too cold this would add additional salt healing benefits also.

Whatever you do, have FUN. ;)

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Where is your La la la la la la la now?!? LOL!

hahaha, you were fast to spot that! :D :D :D

Hey heyyyy awesome seeing Asher in da house :D
Yes we do plan for Strava integration. And thanks for the witness vote !

:D

Ahh nice, I am looking forward to that already!

My pleasure, when utopian-io come back I shall have to find so space but hopefully another witness will help with the decision!

Wow! Nice first count!

Keep it up!

Cycling is much easier on the lower joints and I prefer it, but don't do it very much nowadays. Maybe I will get back to it!

Thanks!

Yes it is much better for those joints, but nothing like a walk/jog to burn some of that beer-weight off :D

Yay, congrats, finally! Welcome to probation would by the way 🙂

Thank you @erikah!

I wonder when the next actifit post will be - maybe I will use something like ashtifit or abh12345fit :D

I also have a second account for actifit, erikahfit 😀

There is a book called "Born To Run". In the book the author stresses very much on the notion that people, who are injured from running can benefit from barefoot running. You should someday try the barefoot running thing, it's really interesting and I think it really can help people heal their injuries.

Take Care :)

Thank you for this tip and book mention @ervinneb!

Today I walked barefoot along the seashore and although I can feel a slight strain/tiredness this evening, I think I will continue with this :)

Hope you heal :) Take care ! Let me know if it works for you in the longer term :)

20190414_095013.png

came here because of this😂😂😂 and all I can find is a happy actifit man who waits to join a national steem walk competition!

hahaha :D

Today I missed the posting window - I am cheating and using busy :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59727.23
ETH 2674.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44