I passed my written flight exam top of the class!

in #achievement5 years ago

Photo on 28042019 at 11.24 3 2.jpg

For the last three days I have been cramming my head with the kind of general knowledge pilots must learn before they can take to the skies, because getting a license to fly drones commercially is a serious business these days.

Screen Shot 20190504 at 09.36.58.png

Yesterday I was in Oxford city centre to take a written exam, with a small concern that after all these years I had lost my knack for exams. Thankfully I walked out of there with my head held high. I feel very happy with a result of 90% (needing above 75% for a pass) and especially happy with the pat on the back for being top of the class.

Not gonna lie, this was my second attempt. But my excuse is solid. I wasn't sent the 200 page course manual before the course and without a few days to digest it all, passing was impossible the first time around.

Photo on 28042019 at 11.28 2.jpg

Yesterday however I had no excuses and failure was not an option. The film job for which I need this drone license starts at the end of May and there would not be enough time to complete this license application process before the start of the job had I failed to pass a second time.

Multiple choice

To give you an example of the kind of questions I had to answer during my exam.

Screen Shot 20190502 at 23.49.43.png

Most correct answer: Uncontrolled airspace is likely to contain more low flying aircraft.

Screen Shot 20190502 at 23.52.45.png

Correct answer: Can be found up to 200km behind and ahead of it.

Screen Shot 20190504 at 12.24.42.png

Correct answer: To allow air from underneath the wing to flow over the upper surface of the wing to re-energise the flow.

Moving forward

On the 10th May I must still pass my practical assessment, performing various manoeuvres before an examiner. After that I will create an operations manual which outlines every aspect of my operating procedure accounting for all eventualities & safety procedures.

From now on I must keep written logs of all flights and ultimately behave like a real pilot! The CAA can demand to see this paperwork at any time.

Once I have passed all exams and prepared all my paperwork I will make my application to the CAA for the commercial drone operator license.

Until then I will be practicing manoeuvres with my DJI Mavic 2 pro for the next exam. Notice in the background of this shot my uncle setting up his DJI Matrice, designed for holding larger cameras.

Screen Shot 20190504 at 09.39.01.png

A second operator is needed to control the camera, which is great, but doesn't work for what I will be doing.

Screen Shot 20190504 at 09.40.28.png

All in all things seem to be moving much more fluidly now and I look forward to checking in with my mother tomorrow in Norwich where I will try and put this computer down for an entire week!

Should be interesting ;)

gradient banner.png

Who is @samstonehill?

He was a London based filmmaker until he sold everything and set out on a barefoot journey around the world, currently based in the south of France.

He is travelling with his partner & two children and with no bank account he has been living on STEEM & crypto for over a year.

old banner.jpg

All content created for this account is 100% original (unless otherwise stated), produced by @samstonehill who invites you to use & share freely as you wish.

Sam is the creator of:

The Aspiring Steemit Whales & Dolphins group on Facebook which seeks to help newcomers make the transition from Facebook to Steemit, providing them with detailed notes and personal assistance with their posts... resteeming them when he can.

Screen Shot 2017-09-03 at 19.44.43.png


Here is a list of Steemit Witness I have voted for & recommend you do the same:
@teamsteem @timcliff @jesta @good-karma @someguy123 @blocktrades @pfunk @klye @krnel @blueorgy @ausbitbank @thecryptodrive @ura-soul @pharesim

Without them our beloved Steemship would not fly.

Learn what this means HERE and place your vote HERE

imageedit_1_5527523249.png

All non original photo sources can be found by clicking on the image

Sort:  

Congratulations, did you finally get the course book?

Posted using Partiko Android

I did! It arrived after I did the first exam.

My college meteorology education helped me pass this test the first time in October 2017. I’m going to have to renew my license soon..

Having been taught all the METAR code in schooling, left me to self teach only the flight airspace rules and what not. May need to retouch that up. Easy test tho!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Weirdly meteorology was the section which stumped me the first time around. Second time around I knew the answers, but it did take three days of very focused attention to get me to that point.

Great to meet another 'pilot' here on steem!

See you in the skies ;)


Everything is okay! 👌


You received an automatic upvote, because I believe in you and I love what you create! 😉

A huge hug from @amico! 🤗

😍 I love promoting @steembasicincome, even with #sbi-skip! 😜


If you dislike this automatic message, please let me know: thanks! 🙏

Congratulations on being the best at the exam!

Nice to have an uncle who gives you the example: is your mother's or your father's brother?

It was a bit of a surprise getting the top mark, i have to admit! That doesn't normally happen.

My father & his siblings are all long departed from their bodies. My mother's siblings on the other hand are all still very much alive!

This particular uncle is drone obsessed but rather lacking in basic skills like communication with other humans. He has all the money in the world now but genuine happiness clearly eludes him. And his wife looks set to divorce him!

All good life lessons for me ;)

Now I am with my mother in Norwich where I feel much more comfortable.

I fully agree: I also try to learn as much as possible from the examples ("good" or "bad", it makes no difference) of those around me!

Enjoy the peaceful week with your mom and take out all the computers!
Stay blessed!

Wow great congratulations bro 👍

Thanks very much!

One step closer to being a legal drone operator....

It is pretty funny really. All this work just to fly a little baby drone!

Congratulations. Now, you can sell the course book as "new". :-)

haha! Hadn't thought of that ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64605.91
ETH 3159.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11