Accountability : Maybe I spoke too soonsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #accountability8 years ago (edited)

Although physically I seem to be doing very well, last night and today I was struck with a sense of despair and loneliness that is not normal for me. I'm guessing it's a symptom. It seems to have passed, but I have that buzzy exhaustion you can get after a very emotional day.

But, I am late for my dinner, which will be a big salad with my home made mayonnaise dressing and a beautiful chuck eye steak. The chuck eye is lesser known but is as nice as the rib eye at half the price and about half the size. My butcher doesn't even cut them unless I ask for them because so few people even know what they are.


Please try my Future History stories - Enmity
Sort:  

That's probably my fault for making you think about those widows lying in wait for you... Have your dinner and then let us know how you're feeling. A big steak cures many ills. I'm pottering around doing Xmassy things and listening to music - checking out some of @themagus's old posts - so I'll be round for the next 5-6 hours and will check in periodically if you need to chat.

That could be it, those widows are dangerous and persistent.

But no, I do feel better and the steak was yummy. I made the salad after and it was almost too much, I feel a little stuffed. Good way to even out the moods.

Sometimes when I'm tired and cranky, one mouthful of steak magically fixes me in an instant. Even before I've swallowed it, as soon as it's in my mouth, the shift happens.
I can't do the steak, fat & veg only any more though. Something to do with what happens to a woman at a certain age, maybe. But red meat daily is still a necessity.
I've just pulled some crackers out of the oven, made with only 3 ingredients - cheese, ground almonds and egg. As long as I don't overdo the nuts, that sort of thing seems to work quite well at present as a bit of variety.

I'm a fan of the 'Naked and Afraid' series. One thing I noticed on that show, was how miserable everyone was when they didn't have food. As soon as they had food in their stomach, spirits soared and they were ready to take on the world again.

Very true. Though in my case, if I was to eat carbs when I was like that, it would give me a short lift then I'd be even crankier. But protein, especially steak, is what I need. Everybody needs different things though, that's just how it is for me.

I used to make fried cheese like that, just fry the cheese straight. Turns into Goldfish-like crackers. I should make some now. I will. I did.

Yes, I sometimes do that too, except baked in the oven. The crackers were quite nice, but even better when I defrosted some pate to go on top.

So do you grate the cheese and mix it in the eggs? And can it be done without nuts or are you using a nut flour?

For the cheese in oven, I just put piles of grated cheese on baking paper.
Here's how I made the almond and cheese crackers.
https://steemit.com/recipes/@kiwideb/crisp-and-crunchy-christmas-cheese-stars
Scroll down to the comments for today's changes.

I see steak. I want to know more about it. I love rib-eye but it's really expensive. I checked out the chuck eye and found it in a Dutch store online. It's still not cheap but much more affordable. Thanks for the tip man!

If you have a local store that cuts meat, you can ask them. When they make chuck steaks they can get one or two chuck eye steaks at the same time. But since no one ever asks for them, they usually just sell it with the chuck steak.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 58080.30
ETH 3102.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40