You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Proving that you are right is just a necessity of your brain!

in #acceptance7 years ago

Excellent post @the-future, though I will, not for the sake of being contrary, disagree with you on one important facet. "In a dispute, there are no winners", you suggested. I would suggest that there can be winners on both sides in certain circumstances. This requires a good attitude on all sides which should stem from respect.
Should this be the foundation, then all parties and all those affected by the outcome of the dispute can be beneficiaries. As has often been said, one can be wrong in one's rightness and right in one's wrongness. The magnanimity to truly listen 'actively' and ask good questions, rather than speak is the path to agreement. Even just listening or even less: allowing others time and space to voice/vent is a demonstration of preparedness to understand.
Being self-assuredly right in one's own argument is a trait of ignorance and disrespect which means that one might win a battle, maybe more, but the loss of the war is beyond doubt.

Sort:  

I suggested that there are no winners in a dispute because there shouldn't be a dispute in the first place. I mean, yes, people could share friendly their opinions and they both can be winners because they have learned something from each other. But, in a dispute when one is trying to prove a point and another one is trying to prove that he is wrong, well, I can say that there is no winner. Thanks a lot for this great feedback you provided and feel free to reply​ back if you want, I won't feel that you are trying to argue with me.

Certainly no argument with me, my friend! Disagreements, disputes, arguments, call them what you will, are a natural occurrence in every day life. If you are looking for a dispute-free existence, then it is a solitary life - and even then you are not assured!! You make the point well, though, that if your sole desire is to prove a point, then you will meet with a disappointing conclusion to the episode.
I have often advocated that we have two ears and one moth and that the use of these in those proportions is advisable. Again, great post. Good work!

Nicely said @ebryans, I really like it and I'm glad that you leave me such great comments on my post. Two ears to listen two times more than we speak! Thanks again my friend it really means a lot for me! Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55851.69
ETH 2536.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.23