Sort:  

Many thanks @direwolf! Since isteemd started, we've been either at the top or in the top three; except we are not a bidbot, so are not included.
MAP Rewarder is still somewhat "under the radar" as we payout weekly; good for the current delegators :-)

MAP Rewarder is still somewhat "under the radar" as we payout weekly; good for the current delegators :-)

If MAP was more prominent and had more delegations would that decrease the payout and would the payout be daily? I'm not sure if I understood that.

As so much income comes in as SP, it really isn't possible to pay out daily as that SP needs to be turned into liquid STEEM.

I just assume many people prefer daily, or even hourly payouts, even though they will be tiny compared to a weekly total.

Any new delegation actually takes 14 days to be fully integrated into the fund - 7 days of upvotes plus 7 days for those to yield rewards. However, being a mixed strategy, I can lessen this period. If I just left it all on automatic, then new delegations would slightly dampen returns in the first week, but as it is actively managed I can change the mix of incomes to mitigate this.

I guess I should have phrased it the other way round: why is so much money going into bidbots when we are doing as well and often better in terms of returns?

Yeah I don't mind the weekly payout.

So new delegations wouldn't reduce the payouts (APR)? That's the most important thing.

I might do a promo post about accelerator on my blog for whatever good it will do. You're a minnow curation project right?

I hope you also noticed that you're getting upvotes too from your delegation - they come from my @rycharde account as a single account can only run so many algorithms before they get in each other's way.

If you look at recent MAP posts that are not about the Rewarder, you'll see I've changed focus in the last few weeks. MAP now supports quality curators, especially individual curators, so that they in turn support the good content creators.

When I first created MAP as a minnow support group, a year ago, there were few other groups around. Now there are many, so I figured on a new approach that would spread out beyond a single group.

You may wish to look at this fairly recent post: The MAP Trail Curation Contest - Delegated SP and Free Upvotes - Week 2

Yes I've noticed the @rycharde account upvoting and no @accelerator upvotes. But aren't those smaller?

I'll check the post, thanks.

You've given me something to ponder...

The upvotes are a new addition to MAPR and the thinking behind it is to change the "yield curve" so that modest delegations can see significant benefits - without ruining the earning algorithm!

If you look at the numbers at the top of the page, the difference between [6] and [5] is 1.6% APR, or about 7.5% of rewards going out as upvotes. Those are "non-earning" upvotes in the sense that they are part of our support to MAP members and delegators but they are not part of the earning algorithm. If I start to increase those, then the total earnings will drop - the extreme case is that all upvotes go to delegators and we get a tiny curation income.

Hence the separation between two accounts so that I can actually do more than with just one account.

However, you have made me think that there is also a logic that existing delegators may benefit from new delegators (a small amount) if those upvotes were from the same account - or in some way tied to it.

It's in the maths... somewhere!

One immediate consequence that does spring to mind is that the minimum SP would probably have to increase to avoid becoming a pure upvote-service.

Well I guess I should feel flattered for giving you something to think about :)

But yes if upvoting with @accelerator account would decrease APR then don't.

But you're good with math so you can figure it out if there is a solution to that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57740.57
ETH 3127.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33