Prodigies of Academia

in #academia8 years ago

What does it take to be an intellectual prodigy in academia? One word: fearlessness. After reading “Don’t call me a prodigy – the rising stars of European mathematics,” I was inspired by the stories of brilliant young minds and their take on the world. But they seemed to all have one thing in common: a willingness to take risks.

I mean really, as a “normal” person over here, thinking about chasing down a mathematical proof for 10 years until maybe I can come up with a solution, I can’t help but wonder how I am going to eat when I fail to come up with the answer.

So here is a salute to all those out there who have boldly gone where no man has gone before (cerebrally speaking).


Here is the link to the article I referred to: http://www.dw.com/en/dont-call-me-a-prodigy-the-rising-stars-of-european-mathematics/a-19421389

Sort:  

In my opinion it takes Perseverance the academic world is full of trying stuff, and failing. You have to be willing to fail a lot, and I mean A LOT, have everyone tell you that your ideas aren't worth while, and still persevere. Then on top of your perseverance, you have to be right in the end.

Good observation - I think the right in the end part is probably the scariest. I mean what happens if you're not?

Everytime I see people encourage taking risks, I get worried maybe we haven't considered the survivor bias we're seeing. I'm not saying these people aren't brave, or brilliant, but I think sometimes the difference between bravery and stupidity, with regards to taking big risks, is chance.
I think it's like a common saying we use in my line work, 'trust but verify', it's good to take those big risks and believe in yourself, but every time you think that, or encourage other people to do that, make sure words like contingency are nearby.

Here's some lols on the topic by a favourite of mine:

ha, love the video. And totally agree with you - as a short girl who can't shoot baskets over here, I should probably not pursue the NBA. I hate the blanket "you can do it if you just put your mind to it" statements - so unrealistic in particular situations. On the other hand, taking risks is a part of life and I don't think you are going to go anywhere if you don't take them.

Passion. You need to love what you're doing and be single minded in what you want to achieve. Fear does not come into play for people who truly love it, they just go after it.

Didn't think of it from that perspective - good call.

Your work is your hobby. There is no difference (with all the problems that could originate from this, with respect to family life, etc.). In generaly, you enjoy so much what you are doing that you don't really care about many things out-of-academia people do. For instance, you are working 70 hours a week with being paid 35 hours a week. Your salary is probably miserable relatively to the level of education and to what you could get in the private sector, etc.

But you don't care. You like what you do, you want to understand better how the world works and possibly bring something to the mankind. Maybe this will happen, probably it won't :)

Thank you for your comment and explaining what it is like!

Being math prodigies I am sure they were calculated risks.

haha, nice. Great quote.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58802.33
ETH 3158.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42