You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Prodigies of Academia

in #academia8 years ago

Everytime I see people encourage taking risks, I get worried maybe we haven't considered the survivor bias we're seeing. I'm not saying these people aren't brave, or brilliant, but I think sometimes the difference between bravery and stupidity, with regards to taking big risks, is chance.
I think it's like a common saying we use in my line work, 'trust but verify', it's good to take those big risks and believe in yourself, but every time you think that, or encourage other people to do that, make sure words like contingency are nearby.

Here's some lols on the topic by a favourite of mine:

Sort:  

ha, love the video. And totally agree with you - as a short girl who can't shoot baskets over here, I should probably not pursue the NBA. I hate the blanket "you can do it if you just put your mind to it" statements - so unrealistic in particular situations. On the other hand, taking risks is a part of life and I don't think you are going to go anywhere if you don't take them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58635.35
ETH 3152.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44