You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Connecting Steemit, scientific research and academia?

in #academia8 years ago

Thanks Benjamin for sharing your precious thoughts.
A few clarifications that i would like to make:

  • For my post on how i am moving my phd to steemit, it is more on how i can fund my independent research which was my phd research. I had a scholarship and stipend. Without the scholarship, this means that i lose access to university electronic library and the journal papers database.

  • That post was also on increasing awareness of this academic issue which is common at least in my field of life cycle assessment and environmental management related journals. (like reviewers are not paid and how researchers in other developing countries are finding it difficult to get the relevant papers).

And yes, please join us in the chat if you can. Would love to have your inputs :-)

Celia

Sort:  

Hi Celia (now I know your name ^^ )

I will definitely join the chat (I just cannot tell when for the next two weeks) and share my ideas.

I think that the issue with the publications will change. And a Steem-funded platform could be a way (connected
to an arxiv-like database).

Since you have signed off yours in the reply, i see a need to sign off with mine. :-)
Yes, i checked out arxiv. a pity that that they do not have environmental-related articles.

I do not know how the arxiv works internally, but maybe could you contact their administrative team and ask them?