You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: OPEN LETTER TO STEEMIT INC., THE WITNESSES, AND THE WHALES

in #abuse6 years ago (edited)

$25 should be enough right?
What do you think?
(Btw even I earn more through my comments, somehow for some reason, people like it lol)
And I see you already proving your point.

Sort:  

Well, let's get to the root of the problem, rather than trying to cure the symptoms.

The symptoms we're talking about curing are a direct result of bots voting.

Cure that. Problem solved.

Ban vote-bots altogether, how about that? I mean, if we're actually making good content, then we don't need bot votes, right?
I know this sounds a bit far fetched.

I've long recommended exactly that.

This is a social media platform. How well do bots fit in with other social activities? Would you send a robot to a wedding instead of going yourself?

We suffer degradation of our society insofar as we automate it, and for me, this is the worst aspect of bots. Sure, they make ROI for the whales, but so can manual curation. At least it'd be people themselves voting, even if they still voted up crap. It'd be the people's crap.

The problem is that almost no one comes to the conclusion that bots are anathema to society, because they're focused on rewards, not society. Some people do terrible things for money, and the skewing of our debate and rewards seems a minor kerfuffle in comparison.

Worse yet, the whales are the folks that reap the profits of the upvote bots. It's their stake that funds them, after all. Minnows wanna win, like gamblers that wanna hit the jackpot. If they can just buy a big enough vote from a bidbot, or if a whale would just toss them a vote, they'd be soooo happy, they think.

Neither group wants to get rid of bots. They want to profit from them. Most of us, like gamblers, won't. Stinc and the witnesses need to do what the whales want, or go find different jobs, cuz the whales have the Steem that pays them.

In the meantime, bots really control the conversation by determining who is paid for contributing, and this is a problem, because bots are very poor choosers of quality.

Exactly. Your idea sounds like true democracy.
Have you had any success with your suggestions?

Looks like haejin is the least of the worries now; it's the bot problem that needs attention.

(If you're a whale reading this and you're pissed, please realize it's an actual problem. We're not out to get you/your money. We just wanna fix this damn thing.)

The suggestion produces practically universal anger. Folks that want to get a big fat updoot don't want whales to be incentivized to spread their VP out more, and whales don't want to lose their ROI. Stinc and the top witnesses serve the whales, so do what they want. Almost no one both understands that turning Steemit into an automated rewards pool mining operation with undertones of social media degrades society, and cares.

People generally don't understand that society is much more than an economy, and there are much more profitable things than profit, as they tend to take all the most important things for granted, and spend all their time, attention, and effort pursuing emuneration in RL, and find it natural to do here, too.

I don't spend any time on profit. All I need is enough to pay bills, which for me are <$500/month, which I can make in a couple days working. This allows me to spend my mental effort on substantive matters: family, friends, society - the things that make life worth living.

I am pretty sure this thing won't be fixed. Fortunately, there are other interfaces to the blockchain, and other blockchains. I reckon that folks with the chops will take the good parts and replicate them elsewhere (the code for the blockchain is FOSS) and sooner or later, someone will get it right.

It can be frustrating to understand these things, and not see everyone agreeing. I give up my expectations, and just go with the flow, while speaking the truth I understand, regardless of whether folks agree with me or not.

I don't care unless they can show me where I'm wrong, and then I leap at the chance to become right =p

Hahaha you're an interesting man!
Seems like you're living your life right.
True words. 💯🔥
I guess I'll join you in that flow; I've already voiced all my opinions on fixing this anyway.
Instead, I'll play their game with their rules and win it my way. Who knows, one day you and me could be the top 2 witnesses?
Then we'll get to the fixing. 💪

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05