You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: On Steem and Abuse

in #abuse7 years ago

@Drakos I loved your informative post. Could you please tell me what is wrong with upvoting your own comments? After all, you upvote yourself when you post your blog. I agree there needs to be guidelines but I find it hard to understand a flag and run opposed to a reason for a flag like the bot smackdown.kitty. Appreciate your thoughts since you brought up that it is wrong to upvote yourself.

Sort:  

Upvoting posts and comments is allowed by the system. Self-upvoting is a debated issue. Technically there's nothing wrong with it. I do upvote all my posts (15-20 cents worth), almost everyone does that, but I rarely upvote my comments (I think I did that twice so far when I thought my comment was important). That being said, there are people with lots of SP that often upvote their comments. About two weeks ago, one whale upvoted his two-lined comment to almost $600!!! That sparked some very heated exchange. Other people use bots to upvote their comments, which many consider it abusive.

I have seen the bots used to upvote replies often. My latest post tonight has a perfect example of how it is done.

The guy probably automates a reply to posts over x amount, and then he also automates the bot upvotes to his reply.

It is definitely abuse imnsho.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67865.46
ETH 3258.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64